summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorAndrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@virtuozzo.com>2016-05-11 16:51:51 +0300
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>2016-05-12 10:14:31 +0200
commit6d6f2833bfbf296101f9f085e10488aef2601ba5 (patch)
tree6406be065deb97db4250451b051886e5db92e95f
parent3c3116b745c08dc76ccbed7223c4edddcfd9a186 (diff)
downloadlinux-6d6f2833bfbf296101f9f085e10488aef2601ba5.tar.gz
perf/x86: Fix undefined shift on 32-bit kernels
Jim reported: UBSAN: Undefined behaviour in arch/x86/events/intel/core.c:3708:12 shift exponent 35 is too large for 32-bit type 'long unsigned int' The use of 'unsigned long' type obviously is not correct here, make it 'unsigned long long' instead. Reported-by: Jim Cromie <jim.cromie@gmail.com> Signed-off-by: Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@virtuozzo.com> Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: <stable@vger.kernel.org> Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com> Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com> Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com> Cc: Imre Palik <imrep@amazon.de> Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Vince Weaver <vincent.weaver@maine.edu> Fixes: 2c33645d366d ("perf/x86: Honor the architectural performance monitoring version") Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1462974711-10037-1-git-send-email-aryabinin@virtuozzo.com Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
-rw-r--r--arch/x86/events/intel/core.c2
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/arch/x86/events/intel/core.c b/arch/x86/events/intel/core.c
index a6fd4dbcf820..5210eaa4aa62 100644
--- a/arch/x86/events/intel/core.c
+++ b/arch/x86/events/intel/core.c
@@ -3708,7 +3708,7 @@ __init int intel_pmu_init(void)
c->idxmsk64 |= (1ULL << x86_pmu.num_counters) - 1;
}
c->idxmsk64 &=
- ~(~0UL << (INTEL_PMC_IDX_FIXED + x86_pmu.num_counters_fixed));
+ ~(~0ULL << (INTEL_PMC_IDX_FIXED + x86_pmu.num_counters_fixed));
c->weight = hweight64(c->idxmsk64);
}
}