summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorAdrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com>2016-03-07 16:44:38 -0300
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>2016-03-08 10:11:16 +0100
commit640dad47988ec4b734d71934be103bb6e931279f (patch)
treea8b34fcfc5e587d346e3b906fb8e9051639adb40
parent07ef7574458369cb0345facc748e964af68a75f4 (diff)
downloadlinux-640dad47988ec4b734d71934be103bb6e931279f.tar.gz
perf inject: Hit all DSOs for AUX data in JIT and other cases
Currently, when injecting build ids, if there is AUX data then 'perf inject' hits all DSOs because it is not known which DSOs the trace data would hit. That needs to be done for JIT injection also, and in fact there is no reason to distinguish what kind of injection is being done. That is, any time there is AUX data and the HEADER_BUID_ID feature flag is set, and the AUX data is not being processed, then hit all DSOs. This patch does that. Signed-off-by: Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com> Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com> Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com> Cc: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com> Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com> Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1457005856-6143-2-git-send-email-adrian.hunter@intel.com Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
-rw-r--r--tools/perf/builtin-inject.c12
1 files changed, 8 insertions, 4 deletions
diff --git a/tools/perf/builtin-inject.c b/tools/perf/builtin-inject.c
index b38445f08c2f..c6a4f2f94ab1 100644
--- a/tools/perf/builtin-inject.c
+++ b/tools/perf/builtin-inject.c
@@ -679,12 +679,16 @@ static int __cmd_inject(struct perf_inject *inject)
ret = perf_session__process_events(session);
if (!file_out->is_pipe) {
- if (inject->build_ids) {
+ if (inject->build_ids)
perf_header__set_feat(&session->header,
HEADER_BUILD_ID);
- if (inject->have_auxtrace)
- dsos__hit_all(session);
- }
+ /*
+ * Keep all buildids when there is unprocessed AUX data because
+ * it is not known which ones the AUX trace hits.
+ */
+ if (perf_header__has_feat(&session->header, HEADER_BUILD_ID) &&
+ inject->have_auxtrace && !inject->itrace_synth_opts.set)
+ dsos__hit_all(session);
/*
* The AUX areas have been removed and replaced with
* synthesized hardware events, so clear the feature flag and