summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorKirill A. Shutemov <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com>2015-04-14 15:45:36 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2015-04-14 16:49:01 -0700
commitf5d4547ad27737137fae8e67025e5664ecb8e790 (patch)
treeaf88654fe1a967a2358db809d456dbdcdc9021cb
parent761b06771adeeb734e9eebc6f70f916cb9e2f643 (diff)
downloadlinux-f5d4547ad27737137fae8e67025e5664ecb8e790.tar.gz
alpha: expose number of page table levels on Kconfig level
I've implemented accounting for pmd page tables as we have for pte (see mm->nr_ptes). It's requires a new counter in mm_struct: mm->nr_pmds. But the feature doesn't make any sense if an architecture has PMD level folded and it would be nice get rid of the counter in this case. The problem is that we cannot use __PAGETABLE_PMD_FOLDED in <linux/mm_types.h> due to circular dependencies: <linux/mm_types> -> <asm/pgtable.h> -> <linux/mm_types.h> In most cases <asm/pgtable.h> wants <linux/mm_types.h> to get definition of struct page and struct vm_area_struct. I've tried to split mm_struct into separate header file to be able to user <asm/pgtable.h> there. But it doesn't fly on some architectures, like ARM: it wants mm_struct <asm/pgtable.h> to implement tlb flushing. I don't see how to fix it without massive de-inlining or coverting a lot for inline functions to macros. This is other approach: expose number of page tables in use via Kconfig and use it in <linux/mm_types.h> instead of __PAGETABLE_PMD_FOLDED from <asm/pgtable.h>. This patch (of 19): We would want to use number of page table level to define mm_struct. Let's expose it as CONFIG_PGTABLE_LEVELS. Signed-off-by: Kirill A. Shutemov <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com> Acked-by: Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net> Cc: Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru> Cc: Matt Turner <mattst88@gmail.com> Tested-by: Guenter Roeck <linux@roeck-us.net> Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com> Cc: "James E.J. Bottomley" <jejb@parisc-linux.org> Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com> Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@ezchip.com> Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com> Cc: Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com> Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org> Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com> Cc: Helge Deller <deller@gmx.de> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com> Cc: Jeff Dike <jdike@addtoit.com> Cc: Kirill A. Shutemov <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com> Cc: Koichi Yasutake <yasutake.koichi@jp.panasonic.com> Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com> Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org> Cc: Richard Weinberger <richard@nod.at> Cc: Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com> Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
-rw-r--r--arch/alpha/Kconfig4
1 files changed, 4 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/arch/alpha/Kconfig b/arch/alpha/Kconfig
index b7ff9a318c31..bf9e9d3b3792 100644
--- a/arch/alpha/Kconfig
+++ b/arch/alpha/Kconfig
@@ -76,6 +76,10 @@ config GENERIC_ISA_DMA
bool
default y
+config PGTABLE_LEVELS
+ int
+ default 3
+
source "init/Kconfig"
source "kernel/Kconfig.freezer"