summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/Documentation/devicetree/booting-without-of.txt
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorGrant Likely <grant.likely@linaro.org>2013-12-11 09:47:52 +0000
committerGrant Likely <grant.likely@linaro.org>2014-01-16 11:11:51 +0000
commit40aad3c1a9b63a044bdae25be26fa0daaf676622 (patch)
tree830742e4c69176bdb2d3aef9b1df4d235eca162e /Documentation/devicetree/booting-without-of.txt
parentd6e0a2dd12f4067a5bcefb8bbd8ddbeff800afbc (diff)
downloadlinux-40aad3c1a9b63a044bdae25be26fa0daaf676622.tar.gz
dt/bindings: Remove all references to device_type "ethernet-phy"
The device_type property is deprecated for the flattened device tree and the value "ethernet-phy" has never been defined as having a useful meaning. Neither the kernel nor u-boot depend on it. It should never have appeared in PHY bindings. This patch removes all references to "ethernet-phy" as a device_type value from the documentation and the .dts files. This patch was generated mechanically with the following command and then verified by looking at the diff. sed -i '/"ethernet-phy"/d' `git grep -l '"ethernet-phy"'` Signed-off-by: Grant Likely <grant.likely@linaro.org> Acked-by: Srinivas Kandagatla <srinivas.kandagatla@st.com> Cc: Rob Herring <rob.herring@calxeda.com> Cc: Pawel Moll <pawel.moll@arm.com> Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com> Cc: Ian Campbell <ijc+devicetree@hellion.org.uk> Cc: Kumar Gala <galak@codeaurora.org> Cc: Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@gmail.com> Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'Documentation/devicetree/booting-without-of.txt')
-rw-r--r--Documentation/devicetree/booting-without-of.txt3
1 files changed, 0 insertions, 3 deletions
diff --git a/Documentation/devicetree/booting-without-of.txt b/Documentation/devicetree/booting-without-of.txt
index b2fb2f5e1922..1f013bd0d320 100644
--- a/Documentation/devicetree/booting-without-of.txt
+++ b/Documentation/devicetree/booting-without-of.txt
@@ -1364,19 +1364,16 @@ Appendix A - Sample SOC node for MPC8540
phy0: ethernet-phy@0 {
interrupts = <5 1>;
reg = <0>;
- device_type = "ethernet-phy";
};
phy1: ethernet-phy@1 {
interrupts = <5 1>;
reg = <1>;
- device_type = "ethernet-phy";
};
phy3: ethernet-phy@3 {
interrupts = <7 1>;
reg = <3>;
- device_type = "ethernet-phy";
};
};
};