summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/arch/arm64/include/asm
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorMark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>2016-01-25 11:45:06 +0000
committerCatalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>2016-02-16 15:10:46 +0000
commit1e531cce68c92b46c7d29f36a72f9a3e5886678f (patch)
tree78eb4a816458502813be0927a0ec1145a2332f4b /arch/arm64/include/asm
parent316b39db06718d59d82736df9fc65cf05b467cc7 (diff)
downloadlinux-1e531cce68c92b46c7d29f36a72f9a3e5886678f.tar.gz
arm64: mm: add __{pud,pgd}_populate
We currently have __pmd_populate for creating a pmd table entry given the physical address of a pte, but don't have equivalents for the pud or pgd levels of table. To enable us to manipulate tables which are mapped outside of the linear mapping (where we have a PA, but not a linear map VA), it is useful to have these functions. This patch adds __{pud,pgd}_populate. As these should not be called when the kernel uses folded {pmd,pud}s, in these cases they expand to BUILD_BUG(). So long as the appropriate checks are made on the {pud,pgd} entry prior to attempting population, these should be optimized out at compile time. Signed-off-by: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com> Reviewed-by: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com> Tested-by: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org> Reviewed-by: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org> Tested-by: Jeremy Linton <jeremy.linton@arm.com> Cc: Laura Abbott <labbott@fedoraproject.org> Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com> Signed-off-by: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/arm64/include/asm')
-rw-r--r--arch/arm64/include/asm/pgalloc.h26
1 files changed, 22 insertions, 4 deletions
diff --git a/arch/arm64/include/asm/pgalloc.h b/arch/arm64/include/asm/pgalloc.h
index c15053902942..ff98585d085a 100644
--- a/arch/arm64/include/asm/pgalloc.h
+++ b/arch/arm64/include/asm/pgalloc.h
@@ -42,11 +42,20 @@ static inline void pmd_free(struct mm_struct *mm, pmd_t *pmd)
free_page((unsigned long)pmd);
}
-static inline void pud_populate(struct mm_struct *mm, pud_t *pud, pmd_t *pmd)
+static inline void __pud_populate(pud_t *pud, phys_addr_t pmd, pudval_t prot)
{
- set_pud(pud, __pud(__pa(pmd) | PMD_TYPE_TABLE));
+ set_pud(pud, __pud(pmd | prot));
}
+static inline void pud_populate(struct mm_struct *mm, pud_t *pud, pmd_t *pmd)
+{
+ __pud_populate(pud, __pa(pmd), PMD_TYPE_TABLE);
+}
+#else
+static inline void __pud_populate(pud_t *pud, phys_addr_t pmd, pudval_t prot)
+{
+ BUILD_BUG();
+}
#endif /* CONFIG_PGTABLE_LEVELS > 2 */
#if CONFIG_PGTABLE_LEVELS > 3
@@ -62,11 +71,20 @@ static inline void pud_free(struct mm_struct *mm, pud_t *pud)
free_page((unsigned long)pud);
}
-static inline void pgd_populate(struct mm_struct *mm, pgd_t *pgd, pud_t *pud)
+static inline void __pgd_populate(pgd_t *pgdp, phys_addr_t pud, pgdval_t prot)
{
- set_pgd(pgd, __pgd(__pa(pud) | PUD_TYPE_TABLE));
+ set_pgd(pgdp, __pgd(pud | prot));
}
+static inline void pgd_populate(struct mm_struct *mm, pgd_t *pgd, pud_t *pud)
+{
+ __pgd_populate(pgd, __pa(pud), PUD_TYPE_TABLE);
+}
+#else
+static inline void __pgd_populate(pgd_t *pgdp, phys_addr_t pud, pgdval_t prot)
+{
+ BUILD_BUG();
+}
#endif /* CONFIG_PGTABLE_LEVELS > 3 */
extern pgd_t *pgd_alloc(struct mm_struct *mm);