summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/arch/cris
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorDave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>2016-02-12 13:01:55 -0800
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>2016-02-16 10:11:12 +0100
commitcde70140fed8429acf7a14e2e2cbd3e329036653 (patch)
treeaa684e9cae39005e66ab4b7d2b801beade6fa9ab /arch/cris
parent1e9877902dc7e11d2be038371c6fbf2dfcd469d7 (diff)
downloadlinux-cde70140fed8429acf7a14e2e2cbd3e329036653.tar.gz
mm/gup: Overload get_user_pages() functions
The concept here was a suggestion from Ingo. The implementation horrors are all mine. This allows get_user_pages(), get_user_pages_unlocked(), and get_user_pages_locked() to be called with or without the leading tsk/mm arguments. We will give a compile-time warning about the old style being __deprecated and we will also WARN_ON() if the non-remote version is used for a remote-style access. Doing this, folks will get nice warnings and will not break the build. This should be nice for -next and will hopefully let developers fix up their own code instead of maintainers needing to do it at merge time. The way we do this is hideous. It uses the __VA_ARGS__ macro functionality to call different functions based on the number of arguments passed to the macro. There's an additional hack to ensure that our EXPORT_SYMBOL() of the deprecated symbols doesn't trigger a warning. We should be able to remove this mess as soon as -rc1 hits in the release after this is merged. Signed-off-by: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com> Cc: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk> Cc: Alexander Kuleshov <kuleshovmail@gmail.com> Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com> Cc: Dave Hansen <dave@sr71.net> Cc: Dominik Dingel <dingel@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Geliang Tang <geliangtang@163.com> Cc: Jan Kara <jack@suse.cz> Cc: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org> Cc: Kirill A. Shutemov <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com> Cc: Konstantin Khlebnikov <koct9i@gmail.com> Cc: Leon Romanovsky <leon@leon.nu> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@socionext.com> Cc: Mateusz Guzik <mguzik@redhat.com> Cc: Maxime Coquelin <mcoquelin.stm32@gmail.com> Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com> Cc: Naoya Horiguchi <n-horiguchi@ah.jp.nec.com> Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com> Cc: Paul Gortmaker <paul.gortmaker@windriver.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Srikar Dronamraju <srikar@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Vladimir Davydov <vdavydov@virtuozzo.com> Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz> Cc: Xie XiuQi <xiexiuqi@huawei.com> Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org Cc: linux-mm@kvack.org Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20160212210155.73222EE1@viggo.jf.intel.com Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/cris')
0 files changed, 0 insertions, 0 deletions