summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/arch/powerpc/mm/pgtable_64.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorKirill A. Shutemov <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com>2016-01-15 16:53:21 -0800
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2016-01-15 17:56:32 -0800
commit7aa9a23c69eae5bfba4f1f92c58d89edc334c8ae (patch)
tree8eccefe79b3a605534c87c475fc17fa26a263efc /arch/powerpc/mm/pgtable_64.c
parentb27873702b0604dc4000811e6aa43e18457013de (diff)
downloadlinux-7aa9a23c69eae5bfba4f1f92c58d89edc334c8ae.tar.gz
powerpc, thp: remove infrastructure for handling splitting PMDs
With new refcounting we don't need to mark PMDs splitting. Let's drop code to handle this. pmdp_splitting_flush() is not needed too: on splitting PMD we will do pmdp_clear_flush() + set_pte_at(). pmdp_clear_flush() will do IPI as needed for fast_gup. Signed-off-by: Kirill A. Shutemov <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com> Tested-by: Aneesh Kumar K.V <aneesh.kumar@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Reviewed-by: Aneesh Kumar K.V <aneesh.kumar@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Sasha Levin <sasha.levin@oracle.com> Cc: Jerome Marchand <jmarchan@redhat.com> Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz> Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com> Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com> Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com> Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de> Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com> Cc: Naoya Horiguchi <n-horiguchi@ah.jp.nec.com> Cc: Steve Capper <steve.capper@linaro.org> Cc: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org> Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.cz> Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com> Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/powerpc/mm/pgtable_64.c')
-rw-r--r--arch/powerpc/mm/pgtable_64.c49
1 files changed, 0 insertions, 49 deletions
diff --git a/arch/powerpc/mm/pgtable_64.c b/arch/powerpc/mm/pgtable_64.c
index ea6bc31debb0..3124a20d0fab 100644
--- a/arch/powerpc/mm/pgtable_64.c
+++ b/arch/powerpc/mm/pgtable_64.c
@@ -604,55 +604,6 @@ int pmdp_clear_flush_young(struct vm_area_struct *vma,
}
/*
- * We mark the pmd splitting and invalidate all the hpte
- * entries for this hugepage.
- */
-void pmdp_splitting_flush(struct vm_area_struct *vma,
- unsigned long address, pmd_t *pmdp)
-{
- unsigned long old, tmp;
-
- VM_BUG_ON(address & ~HPAGE_PMD_MASK);
-
-#ifdef CONFIG_DEBUG_VM
- WARN_ON(!pmd_trans_huge(*pmdp));
- assert_spin_locked(&vma->vm_mm->page_table_lock);
-#endif
-
-#ifdef PTE_ATOMIC_UPDATES
-
- __asm__ __volatile__(
- "1: ldarx %0,0,%3\n\
- andi. %1,%0,%6\n\
- bne- 1b \n\
- oris %1,%0,%4@h \n\
- stdcx. %1,0,%3 \n\
- bne- 1b"
- : "=&r" (old), "=&r" (tmp), "=m" (*pmdp)
- : "r" (pmdp), "i" (_PAGE_SPLITTING), "m" (*pmdp), "i" (_PAGE_BUSY)
- : "cc" );
-#else
- old = pmd_val(*pmdp);
- *pmdp = __pmd(old | _PAGE_SPLITTING);
-#endif
- /*
- * If we didn't had the splitting flag set, go and flush the
- * HPTE entries.
- */
- trace_hugepage_splitting(address, old);
- if (!(old & _PAGE_SPLITTING)) {
- /* We need to flush the hpte */
- if (old & _PAGE_HASHPTE)
- hpte_do_hugepage_flush(vma->vm_mm, address, pmdp, old);
- }
- /*
- * This ensures that generic code that rely on IRQ disabling
- * to prevent a parallel THP split work as expected.
- */
- kick_all_cpus_sync();
-}
-
-/*
* We want to put the pgtable in pmd and use pgtable for tracking
* the base page size hptes
*/