summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/arch/sparc/include
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorHugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>2016-05-19 17:13:00 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2016-05-19 19:12:14 -0700
commitfd8cfd3000191cb7f5b9ea8640bd46181f6b4b74 (patch)
tree86c96294eb99388fa70ea420019d2a9e365cf4ca /arch/sparc/include
parent1d069b7dd56728a0eb6acb138dce0d37600dee00 (diff)
downloadlinux-fd8cfd3000191cb7f5b9ea8640bd46181f6b4b74.tar.gz
arch: fix has_transparent_hugepage()
I've just discovered that the useful-sounding has_transparent_hugepage() is actually an architecture-dependent minefield: on some arches it only builds if CONFIG_TRANSPARENT_HUGEPAGE=y, on others it's also there when not, but on some of those (arm and arm64) it then gives the wrong answer; and on mips alone it's marked __init, which would crash if called later (but so far it has not been called later). Straighten this out: make it available to all configs, with a sensible default in asm-generic/pgtable.h, removing its definitions from those arches (arc, arm, arm64, sparc, tile) which are served by the default, adding #define has_transparent_hugepage has_transparent_hugepage to those (mips, powerpc, s390, x86) which need to override the default at runtime, and removing the __init from mips (but maybe that kind of code should be avoided after init: set a static variable the first time it's called). Signed-off-by: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com> Cc: "Kirill A. Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com> Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com> Cc: Andres Lagar-Cavilla <andreslc@google.com> Cc: Yang Shi <yang.shi@linaro.org> Cc: Ning Qu <quning@gmail.com> Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@techsingularity.net> Cc: Konstantin Khlebnikov <koct9i@gmail.com> Acked-by: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net> Acked-by: Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com> [arch/arc] Acked-by: Gerald Schaefer <gerald.schaefer@de.ibm.com> [arch/s390] Acked-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/sparc/include')
-rw-r--r--arch/sparc/include/asm/pgtable_64.h2
1 files changed, 0 insertions, 2 deletions
diff --git a/arch/sparc/include/asm/pgtable_64.h b/arch/sparc/include/asm/pgtable_64.h
index f089cfa249f3..93ce0ada3c63 100644
--- a/arch/sparc/include/asm/pgtable_64.h
+++ b/arch/sparc/include/asm/pgtable_64.h
@@ -681,8 +681,6 @@ static inline unsigned long pmd_trans_huge(pmd_t pmd)
return pte_val(pte) & _PAGE_PMD_HUGE;
}
-#define has_transparent_hugepage() 1
-
static inline pmd_t pmd_mkold(pmd_t pmd)
{
pte_t pte = __pte(pmd_val(pmd));