summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/init
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorDavid Brown <david.brown@linaro.org>2016-02-17 14:41:18 -0800
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>2016-02-22 08:51:39 +0100
commit11bf9b865898961cee60a41c483c9f27ec76e12e (patch)
treeb1bf9ec472b77256c749da4a24e3fd689f7c87db /init
parent018ef8dcf3de5f62e2cc1a9273cc27e1c6ba8de5 (diff)
downloadlinux-11bf9b865898961cee60a41c483c9f27ec76e12e.tar.gz
ARM/vdso: Mark the vDSO code read-only after init
Although the ARM vDSO is cleanly separated by code/data with the code being read-only in userspace mappings, the code page is still writable from the kernel. There have been exploits (such as http://itszn.com/blog/?p=21) that take advantage of this on x86 to go from a bad kernel write to full root. Prevent this specific exploit class on ARM as well by putting the vDSO code page in post-init read-only memory as well. Before: vdso: 1 text pages at base 80927000 root@Vexpress:/ cat /sys/kernel/debug/kernel_page_tables ---[ Modules ]--- ---[ Kernel Mapping ]--- 0x80000000-0x80100000 1M RW NX SHD 0x80100000-0x80600000 5M ro x SHD 0x80600000-0x80800000 2M ro NX SHD 0x80800000-0xbe000000 984M RW NX SHD After: vdso: 1 text pages at base 8072b000 root@Vexpress:/ cat /sys/kernel/debug/kernel_page_tables ---[ Modules ]--- ---[ Kernel Mapping ]--- 0x80000000-0x80100000 1M RW NX SHD 0x80100000-0x80600000 5M ro x SHD 0x80600000-0x80800000 2M ro NX SHD 0x80800000-0xbe000000 984M RW NX SHD Inspired by https://lkml.org/lkml/2016/1/19/494 based on work by the PaX Team, Brad Spengler, and Kees Cook. Signed-off-by: David Brown <david.brown@linaro.org> Signed-off-by: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org> Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@amacapital.net> Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de> Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de> Cc: Brad Spengler <spender@grsecurity.net> Cc: Brian Gerst <brgerst@gmail.com> Cc: Denys Vlasenko <dvlasenk@redhat.com> Cc: Emese Revfy <re.emese@gmail.com> Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Mathias Krause <minipli@googlemail.com> Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au> Cc: Nathan Lynch <nathan_lynch@mentor.com> Cc: PaX Team <pageexec@freemail.hu> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: kernel-hardening@lists.openwall.com Cc: linux-arch <linux-arch@vger.kernel.org> Cc: linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1455748879-21872-8-git-send-email-keescook@chromium.org Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'init')
0 files changed, 0 insertions, 0 deletions