summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/init
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorPetr Mladek <pmladek@suse.com>2016-05-20 17:00:39 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2016-05-20 17:58:30 -0700
commit427934b8714ec130b068d1c9d88f25b24aaede32 (patch)
tree2d72fdd828f1fe84c948225b680fe26de7be2536 /init
parentb522deabc6f18e4f938d93a84f345f2cbf3347d1 (diff)
downloadlinux-427934b8714ec130b068d1c9d88f25b24aaede32.tar.gz
printk/nmi: increase the size of NMI buffer and make it configurable
Testing has shown that the backtrace sometimes does not fit into the 4kB temporary buffer that is used in NMI context. The warnings are gone when I double the temporary buffer size. This patch doubles the buffer size and makes it configurable. Note that this problem existed even in the x86-specific implementation that was added by the commit a9edc8809328 ("x86/nmi: Perform a safe NMI stack trace on all CPUs"). Nobody noticed it because it did not print any warnings. Signed-off-by: Petr Mladek <pmladek@suse.com> Cc: Jan Kara <jack@suse.cz> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org> Cc: Russell King <rmk+kernel@arm.linux.org.uk> Cc: Daniel Thompson <daniel.thompson@linaro.org> Cc: Jiri Kosina <jkosina@suse.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org> Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com> Cc: David Miller <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: Daniel Thompson <daniel.thompson@linaro.org> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'init')
-rw-r--r--init/Kconfig22
1 files changed, 22 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/init/Kconfig b/init/Kconfig
index bccc1d607be5..a9c4aefd5436 100644
--- a/init/Kconfig
+++ b/init/Kconfig
@@ -862,6 +862,28 @@ config LOG_CPU_MAX_BUF_SHIFT
13 => 8 KB for each CPU
12 => 4 KB for each CPU
+config NMI_LOG_BUF_SHIFT
+ int "Temporary per-CPU NMI log buffer size (12 => 4KB, 13 => 8KB)"
+ range 10 21
+ default 13
+ depends on PRINTK_NMI
+ help
+ Select the size of a per-CPU buffer where NMI messages are temporary
+ stored. They are copied to the main log buffer in a safe context
+ to avoid a deadlock. The value defines the size as a power of 2.
+
+ NMI messages are rare and limited. The largest one is when
+ a backtrace is printed. It usually fits into 4KB. Select
+ 8KB if you want to be on the safe side.
+
+ Examples:
+ 17 => 128 KB for each CPU
+ 16 => 64 KB for each CPU
+ 15 => 32 KB for each CPU
+ 14 => 16 KB for each CPU
+ 13 => 8 KB for each CPU
+ 12 => 4 KB for each CPU
+
#
# Architectures with an unreliable sched_clock() should select this:
#