summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/kernel/kexec.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorHugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>2014-08-29 15:18:44 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2014-08-29 16:28:16 -0700
commitb38af4721f59d0b564468f623b3e52a638195015 (patch)
tree1197f01ff4bec576a027157f42cffa6b238153f5 /kernel/kexec.c
parent7ea8574e5fa31f43d8098a028f12ba6a9c9f3530 (diff)
downloadlinux-b38af4721f59d0b564468f623b3e52a638195015.tar.gz
x86,mm: fix pte_special versus pte_numa
Sasha Levin has shown oopses on ffffea0003480048 and ffffea0003480008 at mm/memory.c:1132, running Trinity on different 3.16-rc-next kernels: where zap_pte_range() checks page->mapping to see if PageAnon(page). Those addresses fit struct pages for pfns d2001 and d2000, and in each dump a register or a stack slot showed d2001730 or d2000730: pte flags 0x730 are PCD ACCESSED PROTNONE SPECIAL IOMAP; and Sasha's e820 map has a hole between cfffffff and 100000000, which would need special access. Commit c46a7c817e66 ("x86: define _PAGE_NUMA by reusing software bits on the PMD and PTE levels") has broken vm_normal_page(): a PROTNONE SPECIAL pte no longer passes the pte_special() test, so zap_pte_range() goes on to try to access a non-existent struct page. Fix this by refining pte_special() (SPECIAL with PRESENT or PROTNONE) to complement pte_numa() (SPECIAL with neither PRESENT nor PROTNONE). A hint that this was a problem was that c46a7c817e66 added pte_numa() test to vm_normal_page(), and moved its is_zero_pfn() test from slow to fast path: This was papering over a pte_special() snag when the zero page was encountered during zap. This patch reverts vm_normal_page() to how it was before, relying on pte_special(). It still appears that this patch may be incomplete: aren't there other places which need to be handling PROTNONE along with PRESENT? For example, pte_mknuma() clears _PAGE_PRESENT and sets _PAGE_NUMA, but on a PROT_NONE area, that would make it pte_special(). This is side-stepped by the fact that NUMA hinting faults skipped PROT_NONE VMAs and there are no grounds where a NUMA hinting fault on a PROT_NONE VMA would be interesting. Fixes: c46a7c817e66 ("x86: define _PAGE_NUMA by reusing software bits on the PMD and PTE levels") Reported-by: Sasha Levin <sasha.levin@oracle.com> Tested-by: Sasha Levin <sasha.levin@oracle.com> Signed-off-by: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com> Signed-off-by: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de> Cc: "Kirill A. Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com> Cc: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org> Cc: Cyrill Gorcunov <gorcunov@gmail.com> Cc: Matthew Wilcox <matthew.r.wilcox@intel.com> Cc: <stable@vger.kernel.org> [3.16] Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'kernel/kexec.c')
0 files changed, 0 insertions, 0 deletions