summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/tools/perf/Documentation/Build.txt
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorJiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org>2015-01-14 19:05:27 +0100
committerArnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>2015-02-12 17:53:00 -0300
commitf819f703a42eed63443cef796b1852e6baf985bd (patch)
tree582241a75a15ec76eb2240a242422a79491bc1ff /tools/perf/Documentation/Build.txt
parentdb8486626246f86d8f6f77ff0020c68a6dda2e23 (diff)
downloadlinux-f819f703a42eed63443cef796b1852e6baf985bd.tar.gz
perf build: Add build documentation
Adding file describing the basics of perf build process. Signed-off-by: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org> Tested-by: Sukadev Bhattiprolu <sukadev@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Tested-by: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com> Cc: Alexis Berlemont <alexis.berlemont@gmail.com> Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de> Cc: Corey Ashford <cjashfor@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com> Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com> Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/n/tip-ibgf7vxyduwohlqqfayl11xb@git.kernel.org Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Diffstat (limited to 'tools/perf/Documentation/Build.txt')
-rw-r--r--tools/perf/Documentation/Build.txt49
1 files changed, 49 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/tools/perf/Documentation/Build.txt b/tools/perf/Documentation/Build.txt
new file mode 100644
index 000000000000..f6fc6507ba55
--- /dev/null
+++ b/tools/perf/Documentation/Build.txt
@@ -0,0 +1,49 @@
+
+1) perf build
+=============
+The perf build process consists of several separated building blocks,
+which are linked together to form the perf binary:
+ - libperf library (static)
+ - perf builtin commands
+ - traceevent library (static)
+ - GTK ui library
+
+Several makefiles govern the perf build:
+
+ - Makefile
+ top level Makefile working as a wrapper that calls the main
+ Makefile.perf with a -j option to do parallel builds.
+
+ - Makefile.perf
+ main makefile that triggers build of all perf objects including
+ installation and documentation processing.
+
+ - tools/build/Makefile.build
+ main makefile of the build framework
+
+ - tools/build/Build.include
+ build framework generic definitions
+
+ - Build makefiles
+ makefiles that defines build objects
+
+Please refer to tools/build/Documentation/Build.txt for more
+information about build framework.
+
+
+2) perf build
+=============
+The Makefile.perf triggers the build framework for build objects:
+ perf, libperf, gtk
+
+resulting in following objects:
+ $ ls *-in.o
+ gtk-in.o libperf-in.o perf-in.o
+
+Those objects are then used in final linking:
+ libperf-gtk.so <- gtk-in.o libperf-in.o
+ perf <- perf-in.o libperf-in.o
+
+
+NOTE this description is omitting other libraries involved, only
+ focusing on build framework outcomes