summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/tools/perf/Documentation/perf-inject.txt
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorAdrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com>2014-07-22 16:17:38 +0300
committerArnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>2014-07-25 12:08:34 -0300
commita7a2b8b4ce9e0bfd085c5797d535487594a71882 (patch)
tree3f79bfce9c4922c2f0da8655fed8496933988983 /tools/perf/Documentation/perf-inject.txt
parent9b0d2d875d57d85fdfb35ac27f89951520a8b473 (diff)
downloadlinux-a7a2b8b4ce9e0bfd085c5797d535487594a71882.tar.gz
perf inject: Add --kallsyms parameter
Let perf inject take --kallsyms parameter the same as perf script and perf report do. That is needed for decoding Instruction Trace data using a copy of /proc/kcore for the kernel object because the kallsyms path is used to locate that copy. Signed-off-by: Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com> Cc: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com> Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com> Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com> Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@gmail.com> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1406035081-14301-30-git-send-email-adrian.hunter@intel.com Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Diffstat (limited to 'tools/perf/Documentation/perf-inject.txt')
-rw-r--r--tools/perf/Documentation/perf-inject.txt3
1 files changed, 3 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/tools/perf/Documentation/perf-inject.txt b/tools/perf/Documentation/perf-inject.txt
index a00a34276c54..dc7442cf3d7f 100644
--- a/tools/perf/Documentation/perf-inject.txt
+++ b/tools/perf/Documentation/perf-inject.txt
@@ -41,6 +41,9 @@ OPTIONS
tasks slept. sched_switch contains a callchain where a task slept and
sched_stat contains a timeslice how long a task slept.
+--kallsyms=<file>::
+ kallsyms pathname
+
SEE ALSO
--------
linkperf:perf-record[1], linkperf:perf-report[1], linkperf:perf-archive[1]