summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/tools/perf/Documentation/perf-list.txt
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorJiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org>2015-10-05 20:06:05 +0200
committerArnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>2015-10-05 16:21:11 -0300
commit7f94af7a489fada17d28cc60e8f4409ce216bd6d (patch)
treeb01ac1104e90dab6b9e8d657658d68dac4b873b7 /tools/perf/Documentation/perf-list.txt
parent45cf6c33f95448752dd3d5531388429c3a5012d0 (diff)
downloadlinux-7f94af7a489fada17d28cc60e8f4409ce216bd6d.tar.gz
perf tools: Introduce 'P' modifier to request max precision
The 'P' will cause the event to get maximum possible detected precise level. Following record: $ perf record -e cycles:P ... will detect maximum precise level for 'cycles' event and use it. Commiter note: Testing it: $ perf record -e cycles:P usleep 1 [ perf record: Woken up 1 times to write data ] [ perf record: Captured and wrote 0.013 MB perf.data (9 samples) ] $ perf evlist cycles:P $ perf evlist -v cycles:P: size: 112, { sample_period, sample_freq }: 4000, sample_type: IP|TID|TIME|PERIOD, disabled: 1, inherit: 1, mmap: 1, comm: 1, freq: 1, enable_on_exec: 1, task: 1, precise_ip: 2, sample_id_all: 1, mmap2: 1, comm_exec: 1 $ Signed-off-by: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org> Tested-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com> Cc: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com> Cc: Don Zickus <dzickus@redhat.com> Cc: Kan Liang <kan.liang@intel.com> Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1444068369-20978-6-git-send-email-jolsa@kernel.org Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Diffstat (limited to 'tools/perf/Documentation/perf-list.txt')
-rw-r--r--tools/perf/Documentation/perf-list.txt1
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/tools/perf/Documentation/perf-list.txt b/tools/perf/Documentation/perf-list.txt
index ad60c6ea1997..79483f40e991 100644
--- a/tools/perf/Documentation/perf-list.txt
+++ b/tools/perf/Documentation/perf-list.txt
@@ -30,6 +30,7 @@ counted. The following modifiers exist:
G - guest counting (in KVM guests)
H - host counting (not in KVM guests)
p - precise level
+ P - use maximum detected precise level
S - read sample value (PERF_SAMPLE_READ)
D - pin the event to the PMU