summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/tools/perf/Documentation/perf-report.txt
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorNamhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>2016-02-03 23:11:21 +0900
committerArnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>2016-02-03 12:24:21 -0300
commit1ba2fc6de4ac1a87e3ece65651795760ea5cf658 (patch)
treef93252294f465440448fe346424126de6ea647d1 /tools/perf/Documentation/perf-report.txt
parentc6f5f6b662719ded53700deefec7dbc4227c9778 (diff)
downloadlinux-1ba2fc6de4ac1a87e3ece65651795760ea5cf658.tar.gz
perf report: Update documention of --percent-limit option
The --percent-limit option was changed to be applied to callchains as well as to hist entries recently, but it missed to update the doc. Reported-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@kernel.org> Signed-off-by: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org> Cc: Andi Kleen <andi@firstfloor.org> Cc: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com> Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com> Cc: Wang Nan <wangnan0@huawei.com> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1454508683-5735-2-git-send-email-namhyung@kernel.org Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Diffstat (limited to 'tools/perf/Documentation/perf-report.txt')
-rw-r--r--tools/perf/Documentation/perf-report.txt5
1 files changed, 4 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/tools/perf/Documentation/perf-report.txt b/tools/perf/Documentation/perf-report.txt
index 1cb8fac596b1..89cab84e92fd 100644
--- a/tools/perf/Documentation/perf-report.txt
+++ b/tools/perf/Documentation/perf-report.txt
@@ -351,7 +351,10 @@ OPTIONS
--percent-limit::
Do not show entries which have an overhead under that percent.
- (Default: 0).
+ (Default: 0). Note that this option also sets the percent limit (threshold)
+ of callchains. However the default value of callchain threshold is
+ different than the default value of hist entries. Please see the
+ --call-graph option for details.
--percentage::
Determine how to display the overhead percentage of filtered entries.