summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/tools/perf/Documentation/perf-report.txt
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorNamhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>2016-02-25 00:13:48 +0900
committerArnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>2016-02-24 20:21:15 -0300
commit4251446d778e669db5ac9f86b02d38064bdbbf9a (patch)
tree2783693542b144a63e6f665eb8ce2c9a63b942e1 /tools/perf/Documentation/perf-report.txt
parente311ec1e5df6d5de377e67f704bca43fb023ca5e (diff)
downloadlinux-4251446d778e669db5ac9f86b02d38064bdbbf9a.tar.gz
perf report: Add --hierarchy option
The --hierarchy option is to show output in hierarchy mode. It extends folding/unfolding in the TUI and GTK browsers to support sort items as well as callchains. Users can toggle the items to see the performance result at wanted level. $ perf report --hierarchy --tui Overhead Command / Shared Object / Symbol -------------------------------------------------- + 32.96% gnome-shell - 15.11% swapper - 14.97% [kernel.vmlinux] 6.82% [k] intel_idle 0.66% [k] menu_select 0.43% [k] __hrtimer_start_range_ns ... Signed-off-by: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org> Acked-by: Pekka Enberg <penberg@kernel.org> Cc: Andi Kleen <andi@firstfloor.org> Cc: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com> Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com> Cc: Wang Nan <wangnan0@huawei.com> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1456326830-30456-17-git-send-email-namhyung@kernel.org Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Diffstat (limited to 'tools/perf/Documentation/perf-report.txt')
-rw-r--r--tools/perf/Documentation/perf-report.txt3
1 files changed, 3 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/tools/perf/Documentation/perf-report.txt b/tools/perf/Documentation/perf-report.txt
index 89cab84e92fd..12113992ac9d 100644
--- a/tools/perf/Documentation/perf-report.txt
+++ b/tools/perf/Documentation/perf-report.txt
@@ -401,6 +401,9 @@ include::itrace.txt[]
--raw-trace::
When displaying traceevent output, do not use print fmt or plugins.
+--hierarchy::
+ Enable hierarchical output.
+
include::callchain-overhead-calculation.txt[]
SEE ALSO