summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/tools/perf/Documentation/perf-script.txt
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorJiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>2013-12-09 11:02:50 +0100
committerArnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>2013-12-10 16:51:07 -0300
commite90debddf8f26094cd90162b9af2a8ed37ed57cb (patch)
treee4c82c07d1df9430180f7dc0e8455797be08a3a6 /tools/perf/Documentation/perf-script.txt
parent5cfe2c82f3eb6876cf4b55e99decea0bd015d6b8 (diff)
downloadlinux-e90debddf8f26094cd90162b9af2a8ed37ed57cb.tar.gz
perf script: Add --header/--header-only options
Currently the perf.data header is always displayed for stdio output, which is no always useful. Disabling header information by default and adding following options to control header output: --header - display header information --header-only - display header information only w/o further processing Signed-off-by: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/n/tip-0ehaawv5xc83w6ag03c5hi10@git.kernel.org Cc: Corey Ashford <cjashfor@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com> Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu> Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl> Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1386583370-1699-3-git-send-email-jolsa@redhat.com Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Diffstat (limited to 'tools/perf/Documentation/perf-script.txt')
-rw-r--r--tools/perf/Documentation/perf-script.txt6
1 files changed, 6 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/tools/perf/Documentation/perf-script.txt b/tools/perf/Documentation/perf-script.txt
index c2a5071cf8f8..05f9a0a6784c 100644
--- a/tools/perf/Documentation/perf-script.txt
+++ b/tools/perf/Documentation/perf-script.txt
@@ -209,6 +209,12 @@ OPTIONS
--show-mmap-events
Display mmap related events (e.g. MMAP, MMAP2).
+--header
+ Show perf.data header.
+
+--header-only
+ Show only perf.data header.
+
SEE ALSO
--------
linkperf:perf-record[1], linkperf:perf-script-perl[1],