summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/tools/perf/Documentation/perf.txt
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorJiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org>2015-10-05 20:06:09 +0200
committerArnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>2015-10-05 16:36:18 -0300
commita1853e2c6f8ed488adcd84fb162c5b3f0b674d9b (patch)
tree19790860ae4881b070f5c1f8f1d512aac2c548eb /tools/perf/Documentation/perf.txt
parentb34b3bf0798633cc248b682f5b4f6509739ce234 (diff)
downloadlinux-a1853e2c6f8ed488adcd84fb162c5b3f0b674d9b.tar.gz
perf tools: Handle -h and -v options
Adding handling for '-h' and '-v' options to invoke help and version command respectively. Current behaviour is: $ perf -v Unknown option: -v Usage: perf [--version] [--help] [OPTIONS] COMMAND [ARGS] $ perf -h Unknown option: -h Usage: perf [--version] [--help] [OPTIONS] COMMAND [ARGS] New behaviour: $ perf -h usage: perf [--version] [--help] [OPTIONS] COMMAND [ARGS] The most commonly used perf commands are: annotate Read perf.data (created by perf record) and display annotated code archive Create archive with object files with build-ids found in perf.data file bench General framework for benchmark suites ... $ perf -v perf version 4.3.rc3.gc99e32 Updated man page. Requested-by: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Signed-off-by: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org> Tested-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com> Cc: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com> Cc: Don Zickus <dzickus@redhat.com> Cc: Kan Liang <kan.liang@intel.com> Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1444068369-20978-10-git-send-email-jolsa@kernel.org Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Diffstat (limited to 'tools/perf/Documentation/perf.txt')
-rw-r--r--tools/perf/Documentation/perf.txt8
1 files changed, 8 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/tools/perf/Documentation/perf.txt b/tools/perf/Documentation/perf.txt
index 2b131776363e..864e37597252 100644
--- a/tools/perf/Documentation/perf.txt
+++ b/tools/perf/Documentation/perf.txt
@@ -27,6 +27,14 @@ OPTIONS
Setup buildid cache directory. It has higher priority than
buildid.dir config file option.
+-v::
+--version::
+ Display perf version.
+
+-h::
+--help::
+ Run perf help command.
+
DESCRIPTION
-----------
Performance counters for Linux are a new kernel-based subsystem