summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/tools/perf/Documentation
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorStephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>2015-10-13 09:09:11 +0200
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>2015-10-20 10:30:55 +0200
commit43e41adc9e8c36545888d78fed2ef8d102a938dc (patch)
tree0051dce83d96592204b55d24d5b2ff114d983857 /tools/perf/Documentation
parent24f1a79a5fc10858e05ee0bf651ec99abfc0319b (diff)
downloadlinux-43e41adc9e8c36545888d78fed2ef8d102a938dc.tar.gz
perf record: Add ability to sample call branches
This patch add a new branch type sampling filter to perf record. It is named 'call' and maps to PERF_SAMPLE_BRANCH_CALL. It samples direct call branches only, unlike 'any_call' which includes indirect calls as well. $ perf record -j call -e cycles ..... The man page is updated accordingly. Signed-off-by: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com> Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com> Cc: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com> Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Vince Weaver <vincent.weaver@maine.edu> Cc: khandual@linux.vnet.ibm.com Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1444720151-10275-5-git-send-email-eranian@google.com Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'tools/perf/Documentation')
-rw-r--r--tools/perf/Documentation/perf-record.txt1
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/tools/perf/Documentation/perf-record.txt b/tools/perf/Documentation/perf-record.txt
index 2e9ce77b5e14..b027d28658f2 100644
--- a/tools/perf/Documentation/perf-record.txt
+++ b/tools/perf/Documentation/perf-record.txt
@@ -236,6 +236,7 @@ following filters are defined:
- any_call: any function call or system call
- any_ret: any function return or system call return
- ind_call: any indirect branch
+ - call: direct calls, including far (to/from kernel) calls
- u: only when the branch target is at the user level
- k: only when the branch target is in the kernel
- hv: only when the target is at the hypervisor level