summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/tools/perf/Documentation
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorAdrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com>2013-11-18 11:55:57 +0200
committerArnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>2013-11-27 14:58:36 -0300
commit69e7e5b02bc6a9e5cf4a54911b27ca133cc1f99f (patch)
tree3e52f896d030e10dd817d6f212c43be5d70e3bfc /tools/perf/Documentation
parent167faf32b07fc47637048fbcbdfcf4a89481686d (diff)
downloadlinux-69e7e5b02bc6a9e5cf4a54911b27ca133cc1f99f.tar.gz
perf record: Default -t option to no inheritance
The change to per-cpu mmaps causes the -p, -t and -u options now to have inheritance enabled by default. Change that back to no inheritance but for the -t option only. Requested-by: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Signed-off-by: Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com> Cc: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com> Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com> Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com> Cc: Mike Galbraith <efault@gmx.de> Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@gmail.com> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl> Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1384768557-23331-5-git-send-email-adrian.hunter@intel.com Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Diffstat (limited to 'tools/perf/Documentation')
-rw-r--r--tools/perf/Documentation/perf-record.txt2
1 files changed, 2 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/tools/perf/Documentation/perf-record.txt b/tools/perf/Documentation/perf-record.txt
index 6ac867e7667f..c407897f0435 100644
--- a/tools/perf/Documentation/perf-record.txt
+++ b/tools/perf/Documentation/perf-record.txt
@@ -57,6 +57,8 @@ OPTIONS
-t::
--tid=::
Record events on existing thread ID (comma separated list).
+ This option also disables inheritance by default. Enable it by adding
+ --inherit.
-u::
--uid=::