summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/tools/perf/Documentation
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorNamhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>2015-10-22 15:28:49 +0900
committerArnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>2015-10-22 15:40:02 -0300
commita2c10d39af49b00514f7cc7b750757fcc2174f0c (patch)
tree6c709e08266cc80b49016c71bb8fd261b7629920 /tools/perf/Documentation
parent21cf62847d29392e51c37460856d3c3c57769c5e (diff)
downloadlinux-a2c10d39af49b00514f7cc7b750757fcc2174f0c.tar.gz
perf top: Support call-graph display options also
Currently 'perf top --call-graph' option is same as 'perf record'. But 'perf top' also need to receive display options in 'perf report'. To do that, change parse_callchain_report_opt() to allow record options too. Now perf top can receive display options like below: $ perf top --call-graph Error: option `call-graph' requires a value Usage: perf top [<options>] --call-graph <mode[,dump_size],output_type,min_percent[,print_limit],call_order[,branch]> setup and enables call-graph (stack chain/backtrace) recording: fp dwarf lbr, output_type (graph, flat, fractal, or none), min percent threshold, optional print limit, callchain order, key (function or address), add branches $ perf top --call-graph callee,graph,fp Signed-off-by: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org> Cc: Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com> Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de> Cc: Brendan Gregg <brendan.d.gregg@gmail.com> Cc: Chandler Carruth <chandlerc@gmail.com> Cc: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com> Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com> Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl> Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com> Cc: Wang Nan <wangnan0@huawei.com> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1445495330-25416-2-git-send-email-namhyung@kernel.org Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Diffstat (limited to 'tools/perf/Documentation')
-rw-r--r--tools/perf/Documentation/perf-top.txt5
1 files changed, 3 insertions, 2 deletions
diff --git a/tools/perf/Documentation/perf-top.txt b/tools/perf/Documentation/perf-top.txt
index f6a23eb294e7..556cec09bf50 100644
--- a/tools/perf/Documentation/perf-top.txt
+++ b/tools/perf/Documentation/perf-top.txt
@@ -160,9 +160,10 @@ Default is to monitor all CPUS.
-g::
Enables call-graph (stack chain/backtrace) recording.
---call-graph::
+--call-graph [mode,type,min[,limit],order[,key][,branch]]::
Setup and enable call-graph (stack chain/backtrace) recording,
- implies -g.
+ implies -g. See `--call-graph` section in perf-record and
+ perf-report man pages for details.
--children::
Accumulate callchain of children to parent entry so that then can