summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/tools/perf/Documentation
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>2015-10-19 10:04:28 +0200
committerArnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>2015-10-19 16:10:05 -0300
commitb0d22e52e3d2c2b151dfaa0f6e01bafa5475344f (patch)
tree0309eebbfd206dc839646d07d2c19505357694aa /tools/perf/Documentation
parent5dd93304a5d386c73c0a59117752acdca67f857d (diff)
downloadlinux-b0d22e52e3d2c2b151dfaa0f6e01bafa5475344f.tar.gz
perf bench: Harmonize all the -l/--nr_loops options
We have three benchmarking subsystems that specify some sort of 'number of loops' parameter - but all of them do it inconsistently: numa: -l/--nr_loops sched messaging: -l/--loops mem memset/memcpy: -i/--iterations Harmonize them to -l/--nr_loops by picking the numa variant - which is also the most likely one to have existing scripting which we don't want to break. Plus improve the parameter help texts to indicate the default value for the nr_loops variable to keep users from guessing ... Also propagate the naming to internal variables. Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org> Cc: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com> Cc: Hitoshi Mitake <mitake@dcl.info.waseda.ac.jp> Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1445241870-24854-13-git-send-email-mingo@kernel.org [ Let the harmonisation reach the perf-bench man page as well ] Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Diffstat (limited to 'tools/perf/Documentation')
-rw-r--r--tools/perf/Documentation/perf-bench.txt10
1 files changed, 5 insertions, 5 deletions
diff --git a/tools/perf/Documentation/perf-bench.txt b/tools/perf/Documentation/perf-bench.txt
index bbd27d89b50a..ddfb3e10e88c 100644
--- a/tools/perf/Documentation/perf-bench.txt
+++ b/tools/perf/Documentation/perf-bench.txt
@@ -82,7 +82,7 @@ Be multi thread instead of multi process
Specify number of groups
-l::
---loop=::
+--nr_loops=::
Specify number of loops
Example of *messaging*
@@ -149,8 +149,8 @@ Specify routine to copy (default: default).
Available routines are depend on the architecture.
On x86-64, x86-64-unrolled, x86-64-movsq and x86-64-movsb are supported.
--i::
---iterations::
+-l::
+--nr_loops::
Repeat memcpy invocation this number of times.
-c::
@@ -173,8 +173,8 @@ Specify routine to set (default: default).
Available routines are depend on the architecture.
On x86-64, x86-64-unrolled, x86-64-stosq and x86-64-stosb are supported.
--i::
---iterations::
+-l::
+--nr_loops::
Repeat memset invocation this number of times.
-c::