summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/tools/perf/Documentation
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorBorislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>2016-03-07 16:44:44 -0300
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>2016-03-08 10:11:18 +0100
commitf594bae08183fb6b57db55387794ece3e1edf6f6 (patch)
tree0b237a602d6e1dfa00eb5c1e40d3a17b3e2136b4 /tools/perf/Documentation
parent4b633eba14627bcb1ef5c7a498e7dc308cd6a5d6 (diff)
downloadlinux-f594bae08183fb6b57db55387794ece3e1edf6f6.tar.gz
perf stat: Document --detailed option
I'm surprised this remained undocumented since at least 2011. And it is actually a very useful switch, as Steve and I came to realize recently. Add the text from 2cba3ffb9a9d ("perf stat: Add -d -d and -d -d -d options to show more CPU events") which added the incrementing aspect to -d. Tested-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com> Signed-off-by: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de> Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com> Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com> Cc: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com> Cc: Davidlohr Bueso <dbueso@suse.com> Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com> Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.com> Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Fixes: 2cba3ffb9a9d ("perf stat: Add -d -d and -d -d -d options to show more CPU events") Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1457347294-32546-1-git-send-email-bp@alien8.de Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'tools/perf/Documentation')
-rw-r--r--tools/perf/Documentation/perf-stat.txt8
1 files changed, 8 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/tools/perf/Documentation/perf-stat.txt b/tools/perf/Documentation/perf-stat.txt
index 52ef7a9d50aa..14d9e8ffaff7 100644
--- a/tools/perf/Documentation/perf-stat.txt
+++ b/tools/perf/Documentation/perf-stat.txt
@@ -69,6 +69,14 @@ report::
--scale::
scale/normalize counter values
+-d::
+--detailed::
+ print more detailed statistics, can be specified up to 3 times
+
+ -d: detailed events, L1 and LLC data cache
+ -d -d: more detailed events, dTLB and iTLB events
+ -d -d -d: very detailed events, adding prefetch events
+
-r::
--repeat=<n>::
repeat command and print average + stddev (max: 100). 0 means forever.