summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/tools/perf/Makefile.perf
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorNamhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>2016-01-07 20:41:53 +0900
committerArnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>2016-01-08 13:15:46 -0300
commit14cbfbeb76540cc0c53fbb0ba34b3a4900ebe40f (patch)
tree51bc19a46a576c64d784b6c0713eee59c8f73de3 /tools/perf/Makefile.perf
parentfc284be9d88528dd2a28d5471e40a6acde6c3036 (diff)
downloadlinux-14cbfbeb76540cc0c53fbb0ba34b3a4900ebe40f.tar.gz
perf report: Show random usage tip on the help line
Currently perf report only shows a help message "For a higher level overview, try: perf report --sort comm,dso" unconditionally (even if the sort keys were used). Add more help tips and show randomly. Load tips from ${prefix}/share/doc/perf-tip/tips.txt file. $ perf report | tail 0.10% swapper [kernel.vmlinux] [k] irq_exit 0.09% swapper [kernel.vmlinux] [k] flush_smp_call_function_queue 0.08% swapper [kernel.vmlinux] [k] native_write_msr_safe 0.03% swapper [kernel.vmlinux] [k] group_sched_in 0.01% perf [kernel.vmlinux] [k] native_write_msr_safe # # (Tip: Search options using a keyword: perf report -h <keyword>) # Signed-off-by: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org> Acked-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org> Cc: Andi Kleen <andi@firstfloor.org> Cc: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com> Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org> Cc: Masami Hiramatsu <masami.hiramatsu.pt@hitachi.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com> Cc: Wang Nan <wangnan0@huawei.com> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1452166913-27046-1-git-send-email-namhyung@kernel.org [ Renamed it to perf_tip() and the parameter dirname to dirpath to fix the build on older distros ] Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Diffstat (limited to 'tools/perf/Makefile.perf')
-rw-r--r--tools/perf/Makefile.perf3
1 files changed, 3 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/tools/perf/Makefile.perf b/tools/perf/Makefile.perf
index 1025ea79b90b..0a22407e1d7d 100644
--- a/tools/perf/Makefile.perf
+++ b/tools/perf/Makefile.perf
@@ -567,6 +567,9 @@ endif
$(call QUIET_INSTALL, perf_completion-script) \
$(INSTALL) -d -m 755 '$(DESTDIR_SQ)$(sysconfdir_SQ)/bash_completion.d'; \
$(INSTALL) perf-completion.sh '$(DESTDIR_SQ)$(sysconfdir_SQ)/bash_completion.d/perf'
+ $(call QUIET_INSTALL, perf-tip) \
+ $(INSTALL) -d -m 755 '$(DESTDIR_SQ)$(tip_instdir_SQ)'; \
+ $(INSTALL) Documentation/tips.txt -t '$(DESTDIR_SQ)$(tip_instdir_SQ)'
install-tests: all install-gtk
$(call QUIET_INSTALL, tests) \