summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/tools/perf/Makefile.perf
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorAdrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com>2015-04-30 17:37:25 +0300
committerArnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>2015-05-04 19:48:47 -0300
commit99fa298453495ee23801ab500a5fe0138c260edb (patch)
tree1bd00c1305dce664eef07a6557d83d98d4a98643 /tools/perf/Makefile.perf
parent64a7e61f11a22de3571b7f43f231e9b3aab00f1e (diff)
downloadlinux-99fa298453495ee23801ab500a5fe0138c260edb.tar.gz
perf tools: Add AUX area tracing index
Add an index of AUX area tracing events within a perf.data file. perf record uses a special user event PERF_RECORD_FINISHED_ROUND to enable sorting of events in chunks instead of having to sort all events altogether. AUX area tracing events contain data that can span back to the very beginning of the recording period. i.e. they do not obey the rules of PERF_RECORD_FINISHED_ROUND. By adding an index, AUX area tracing events can be found in advance and the PERF_RECORD_FINISHED_ROUND approach works as usual. The index is recorded with the auxtrace feature in the perf.data file. A session reads the index but does not process it. An AUX area decoder can queue all the AUX area data in advance using auxtrace_queues__process_index() or otherwise process the index in some custom manner. Signed-off-by: Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com> Acked-by: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org> Cc: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com> Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com> Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@gmail.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1430404667-10593-3-git-send-email-adrian.hunter@intel.com Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Diffstat (limited to 'tools/perf/Makefile.perf')
0 files changed, 0 insertions, 0 deletions