summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/tools/perf/arch
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorAdrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com>2016-03-07 16:44:42 -0300
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>2016-03-08 10:11:18 +0100
commita23f96ee4d51ebd50b83ce0dbb5d04898fb8e3cb (patch)
treee457754b7d4ab871d57ad54b1cc1032346c6aa92 /tools/perf/arch
parent4a018cc47932ef1e68a0600ce3ac100df70fab2a (diff)
downloadlinux-a23f96ee4d51ebd50b83ce0dbb5d04898fb8e3cb.tar.gz
perf tools: Use 64-bit shifts with (TSC) time conversion
Commit b9511cd761fa ("perf/x86: Fix time_shift in perf_event_mmap_page") altered the time conversion algorithms documented in the perf_event.h header file, to use 64-bit shifts. That was done to make the code more future-proof (i.e. some time in the future a 32-bit shift could be allowed). Reflect those changes in perf tools. Signed-off-by: Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com> Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com> Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com> Cc: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com> Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com> Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1457005856-6143-9-git-send-email-adrian.hunter@intel.com Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'tools/perf/arch')
-rw-r--r--tools/perf/arch/x86/tests/rdpmc.c2
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/tools/perf/arch/x86/tests/rdpmc.c b/tools/perf/arch/x86/tests/rdpmc.c
index 7945462851a4..72193f19d6d7 100644
--- a/tools/perf/arch/x86/tests/rdpmc.c
+++ b/tools/perf/arch/x86/tests/rdpmc.c
@@ -59,7 +59,7 @@ static u64 mmap_read_self(void *addr)
u64 quot, rem;
quot = (cyc >> time_shift);
- rem = cyc & ((1 << time_shift) - 1);
+ rem = cyc & (((u64)1 << time_shift) - 1);
delta = time_offset + quot * time_mult +
((rem * time_mult) >> time_shift);