summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/tools/perf/bench/bench.h
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorDavidlohr Bueso <davidlohr@hp.com>2013-12-14 20:31:57 -0800
committerArnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>2014-03-14 11:20:44 -0300
commit0fb298cf95c0d8119557b7d4657724a146e0622e (patch)
tree373a4bd7d4117fd6e49d0750fb709368631594e5 /tools/perf/bench/bench.h
parent27db78307481dbba68c5f3563c6cb694b25521d9 (diff)
downloadlinux-0fb298cf95c0d8119557b7d4657724a146e0622e.tar.gz
perf bench: Add futex-requeue microbenchmark
Block a bunch of threads on a futex and requeue them on another, N at a time. This program is particularly useful to measure the latency of nthread requeues without waking up any tasks -- thus mimicking a regular futex_wait. An example run: $ perf bench futex requeue -r 100 -t 64 Run summary [PID 151011]: Requeuing 64 threads (from 0x7d15c4 to 0x7d15c8), 1 at a time. [Run 1]: Requeued 64 of 64 threads in 0.0400 ms [Run 2]: Requeued 64 of 64 threads in 0.0390 ms [Run 3]: Requeued 64 of 64 threads in 0.0400 ms ... [Run 100]: Requeued 64 of 64 threads in 0.0390 ms Requeued 64 of 64 threads in 0.0399 ms (+-0.37%) Signed-off-by: Davidlohr Bueso <davidlohr@hp.com> Acked-by: Darren Hart <dvhart@linux.intel.com> Cc: Aswin Chandramouleeswaran <aswin@hp.com> Cc: Darren Hart <dvhart@linux.intel.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com> Cc: Jason Low <jason.low2@hp.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Scott J Norton <scott.norton@hp.com> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Waiman Long <Waiman.Long@hp.com> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1387081917-9102-4-git-send-email-davidlohr@hp.com Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Diffstat (limited to 'tools/perf/bench/bench.h')
-rw-r--r--tools/perf/bench/bench.h1
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/tools/perf/bench/bench.h b/tools/perf/bench/bench.h
index 6ac3f1d083cc..eba46709b279 100644
--- a/tools/perf/bench/bench.h
+++ b/tools/perf/bench/bench.h
@@ -33,6 +33,7 @@ extern int bench_mem_memcpy(int argc, const char **argv,
extern int bench_mem_memset(int argc, const char **argv, const char *prefix);
extern int bench_futex_hash(int argc, const char **argv, const char *prefix);
extern int bench_futex_wake(int argc, const char **argv, const char *prefix);
+extern int bench_futex_requeue(int argc, const char **argv, const char *prefix);
#define BENCH_FORMAT_DEFAULT_STR "default"
#define BENCH_FORMAT_DEFAULT 0