summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/tools/perf/bench/sched-pipe.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorIrina Tirdea <irina.tirdea@intel.com>2012-09-08 08:35:51 +0300
committerArnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>2012-09-08 13:18:54 -0300
commit8bf98b89688c3d7ec071bf26d49761e38d846b47 (patch)
treeba72d4cfd34862992d9d2a1111956cc26eaae839 /tools/perf/bench/sched-pipe.c
parentef34eb4da3eb62a1511592adf7c76d74faca0b14 (diff)
downloadlinux-8bf98b89688c3d7ec071bf26d49761e38d846b47.tar.gz
perf bench: fix assert when NDEBUG is defined
When NDEBUG is defined, the assert macro will be expanded to nothing. Some assert calls used in perf are also including some functionality (e.g. system calls), not only validity checks. Therefore, if NDEBUG is defined, this functionality will be removed along with the assert. Perf also defines BUG_ON based on assert, so it has the same problem. Define BUG_ON so that the condition will be executed when NDEBUG is defined. Replace the assert statements that have these side effects with BUG_ON. For defining BUG_ON, use "if (cond) {}" insted of "if (cond) ;" because in the latter case build fails with "error: suggest braces around empty body in an ‘if’ statement [-Werror=empty-body]" Suggested-by: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl> Signed-off-by: Irina Tirdea <irina.tirdea@intel.com> Reviewed-by: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org> Reviewed-by: Pekka Enberg <penberg@kernel.org> Cc: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com> Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung.kim@lge.com> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl> Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1347082551-2394-1-git-send-email-irina.tirdea@intel.com Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Diffstat (limited to 'tools/perf/bench/sched-pipe.c')
-rw-r--r--tools/perf/bench/sched-pipe.c6
1 files changed, 3 insertions, 3 deletions
diff --git a/tools/perf/bench/sched-pipe.c b/tools/perf/bench/sched-pipe.c
index 0c7454f8b8a9..15911e9c587a 100644
--- a/tools/perf/bench/sched-pipe.c
+++ b/tools/perf/bench/sched-pipe.c
@@ -56,13 +56,13 @@ int bench_sched_pipe(int argc, const char **argv,
* causes error in building environment for perf
*/
int __used ret, wait_stat;
- pid_t pid, retpid;
+ pid_t pid, retpid __used;
argc = parse_options(argc, argv, options,
bench_sched_pipe_usage, 0);
- assert(!pipe(pipe_1));
- assert(!pipe(pipe_2));
+ BUG_ON(pipe(pipe_1));
+ BUG_ON(pipe(pipe_2));
pid = fork();
assert(pid >= 0);