summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/tools/perf/builtin-annotate.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorStephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>2013-08-21 12:10:25 +0200
committerArnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>2013-09-11 10:09:32 -0300
commit5c5e854bc760a2e2c878df3cfcf2afa4febcd511 (patch)
treecc0c44e8d8d9804f30c90f067d08c6cb4c9565ac /tools/perf/builtin-annotate.c
parente71aa28312b208a14cd87fa61e941ac8c85072f4 (diff)
downloadlinux-5c5e854bc760a2e2c878df3cfcf2afa4febcd511.tar.gz
perf tools: Add attr->mmap2 support
This patch adds support for the new PERF_RECORD_MMAP2 record type exposed by the kernel. This is an extended PERF_RECORD_MMAP record. It adds for each file-backed mapping the device major, minor number and the inode number and generation. This triplet uniquely identifies the source of a file-backed mapping. It can be used to detect identical virtual mappings between processes, for instance. The patch will prefer MMAP2 over MMAP. Signed-off-by: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com> Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com> Cc: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu> Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com> Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung.kim@lge.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1377079825-19057-3-git-send-email-eranian@google.com [ Cope with 314add6 "Change machine__findnew_thread() to set thread pid", fix 'perf test' regression test entry affected, use perf_missing_features.mmap2 to fallback to not using .mmap2 in older kernels, so that new tools can work with kernels where this feature is not present ] Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Diffstat (limited to 'tools/perf/builtin-annotate.c')
-rw-r--r--tools/perf/builtin-annotate.c1
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/tools/perf/builtin-annotate.c b/tools/perf/builtin-annotate.c
index f988d380c52f..5ebd0c3b71b6 100644
--- a/tools/perf/builtin-annotate.c
+++ b/tools/perf/builtin-annotate.c
@@ -277,6 +277,7 @@ int cmd_annotate(int argc, const char **argv, const char *prefix __maybe_unused)
.tool = {
.sample = process_sample_event,
.mmap = perf_event__process_mmap,
+ .mmap2 = perf_event__process_mmap2,
.comm = perf_event__process_comm,
.exit = perf_event__process_exit,
.fork = perf_event__process_fork,