summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/tools/perf/builtin-inject.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorAdrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com>2015-04-30 17:37:29 +0300
committerArnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>2015-05-05 18:12:57 -0300
commit4a96f7a02eb52b1b618ab610e689bd82770f00b0 (patch)
tree13ff6ebf629e6b024daf0c8ea1da3e7b65b636cd /tools/perf/builtin-inject.c
parent53c76b0e9ed5ed1f00371160f0be60402acba165 (diff)
downloadlinux-4a96f7a02eb52b1b618ab610e689bd82770f00b0.tar.gz
perf tools: Add support for PERF_RECORD_AUX
Add support for the PERF_RECORD_AUX event type. PERF_RECORD_AUX is a new kernel event that records when new data lands in the AUX buffer. Currently it is assumed that AUX data follows the same ring buffer conventions used by the perf events buffer, and consequently the AUX event is not processed during recording. It is processed during session processing so that the information in the 'flags' member is made available. The format of PERF_RECORD_AUX is outlined in the linux/perf_events.h header file. The 'flags' are also enumerated. Intel PT and Intel BTS use the flag named PERF_AUX_FLAG_TRUNCATED to determine if data has been lost because the buffer became full as perf was not able to empty it fast enough. Signed-off-by: Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com> Acked-by: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org> Cc: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com> Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com> Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@gmail.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1430404667-10593-7-git-send-email-adrian.hunter@intel.com Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Diffstat (limited to 'tools/perf/builtin-inject.c')
-rw-r--r--tools/perf/builtin-inject.c1
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/tools/perf/builtin-inject.c b/tools/perf/builtin-inject.c
index 7c7a7eea900d..3e8f730c7dee 100644
--- a/tools/perf/builtin-inject.c
+++ b/tools/perf/builtin-inject.c
@@ -558,6 +558,7 @@ int cmd_inject(int argc, const char **argv, const char *prefix __maybe_unused)
.fork = perf_event__repipe,
.exit = perf_event__repipe,
.lost = perf_event__repipe,
+ .aux = perf_event__repipe,
.read = perf_event__repipe_sample,
.throttle = perf_event__repipe,
.unthrottle = perf_event__repipe,