summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/tools/perf/builtin-inject.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorNamhyung Kim <namhyung.kim@lge.com>2013-10-11 14:15:36 +0900
committerArnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>2013-10-21 17:33:23 -0300
commite369517ce5f796945c6af047b4e8b1d650e03458 (patch)
tree99078554225df0f002f754335185299b55943f9e /tools/perf/builtin-inject.c
parentf11cfc6f294dbd83b0d58037404df2bd16066238 (diff)
downloadlinux-e369517ce5f796945c6af047b4e8b1d650e03458.tar.gz
perf callchain: Convert children list to rbtree
Current collapse stage has a scalability problem which can be reproduced easily with a parallel kernel build. This is because it needs to traverse every children of callchains linearly during the collapse/merge stage. Converting it to a rbtree reduced the overhead significantly. On my 400MB perf.data file which recorded with make -j32 kernel build: $ time perf --no-pager report --stdio > /dev/null before: real 6m22.073s user 6m18.683s sys 0m0.706s after: real 0m20.780s user 0m19.962s sys 0m0.689s During the perf report the overhead on append_chain_children went down from 96.69% to 18.16%: - 18.16% perf perf [.] append_chain_children - append_chain_children - 77.48% append_chain_children + 69.79% merge_chain_branch - 22.96% append_chain_children + 67.44% merge_chain_branch + 30.15% append_chain_children + 2.41% callchain_append + 7.25% callchain_append + 12.26% callchain_append + 10.22% merge_chain_branch + 11.58% perf perf [.] dso__find_symbol + 8.02% perf perf [.] sort__comm_cmp + 5.48% perf libc-2.17.so [.] malloc_consolidate Reported-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org> Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org> Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1381468543-25334-2-git-send-email-namhyung@kernel.org Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Diffstat (limited to 'tools/perf/builtin-inject.c')
0 files changed, 0 insertions, 0 deletions