summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/tools/perf/builtin-kmem.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorNamhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>2014-08-12 15:40:45 +0900
committerArnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>2014-08-13 16:42:21 -0300
commit0a7e6d1b6844bec2d6817615a693c7fce447b80d (patch)
tree5bdb9ce67fa5b7c301c16e817f9b1d803a44374c /tools/perf/builtin-kmem.c
parentcb2ffae241cfdd6d90acb7ec5f52ad8401885dd2 (diff)
downloadlinux-0a7e6d1b6844bec2d6817615a693c7fce447b80d.tar.gz
perf tools: Check recorded kernel version when finding vmlinux
Currently vmlinux_path__init() only tries to find vmlinux file from current directory, /boot and some canonical directories with version number of the running kernel. This can be a problem when reporting old data recorded on a kernel version not running currently. We can use --symfs option for this but it's annoying for user to do it always. As we already have the info in the perf.data file, it can be changed to use it for the search automatically. Before: $ perf report ... # Samples: 4K of event 'cpu-clock' # Event count (approx.): 1067250000 # # Overhead Command Shared Object Symbol # ........ .......... ................. .............................. 71.87% swapper [kernel.kallsyms] [k] recover_probed_instruction After: # Overhead Command Shared Object Symbol # ........ .......... ................. .................... 71.87% swapper [kernel.kallsyms] [k] native_safe_halt This requires to change signature of symbol__init() to receive struct perf_session_env *. Reported-by: Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org> Signed-off-by: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org> Cc: Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com> Cc: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org> Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com> Cc: Masami Hiramatsu <masami.hiramatsu.pt@hitachi.com> Cc: Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org> Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung.kim@lge.com> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl> Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1407825645-24586-14-git-send-email-namhyung@kernel.org Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Diffstat (limited to 'tools/perf/builtin-kmem.c')
-rw-r--r--tools/perf/builtin-kmem.c4
1 files changed, 2 insertions, 2 deletions
diff --git a/tools/perf/builtin-kmem.c b/tools/perf/builtin-kmem.c
index 349d9b46098e..23762187a219 100644
--- a/tools/perf/builtin-kmem.c
+++ b/tools/perf/builtin-kmem.c
@@ -692,7 +692,7 @@ int cmd_kmem(int argc, const char **argv, const char *prefix __maybe_unused)
usage_with_options(kmem_usage, kmem_options);
if (!strncmp(argv[0], "rec", 3)) {
- symbol__init();
+ symbol__init(NULL);
return __cmd_record(argc, argv);
}
@@ -700,7 +700,7 @@ int cmd_kmem(int argc, const char **argv, const char *prefix __maybe_unused)
if (session == NULL)
return -ENOMEM;
- symbol__init();
+ symbol__init(&session->header.env);
if (!strcmp(argv[0], "stat")) {
if (cpu__setup_cpunode_map())