summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/tools/perf/builtin-kmem.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorJiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org>2014-08-01 17:46:54 +0200
committerArnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>2014-08-12 12:03:02 -0300
commit63914aca8f7e7a75d0ee027af7b1755c69cc1e2c (patch)
treec65607803096bc9f410a44b3a81fd1d7fad2cf2c /tools/perf/builtin-kmem.c
parentb0a45203a75a800015828ac89f2945981019b65b (diff)
downloadlinux-63914aca8f7e7a75d0ee027af7b1755c69cc1e2c.tar.gz
perf tools: Show better error message in case we fail to open counters due to EBUSY error
Showing better error message in case we fail to open counters due to the EBUSY error. If we detect oprofile daemon process running, we now display following message for EBUSY error: $ perf record ls Error: The PMU counters are busy/taken by another profiler. We found oprofile daemon running, please stop it and try again. In case oprofiled was not detected the current error message stays: $ perf record ls Error: The sys_perf_event_open() syscall returned with 16 (Device or resource busy) for event (cycles). /bin/dmesg may provide additional information. No CONFIG_PERF_EVENTS=y kernel support configured? Also changing PERF_FLAG_FD_CLOEXEC detection code not to display error in case of EBUSY error, as it currently does: $ perf record ls Error: perf_event_open(..., PERF_FLAG_FD_CLOEXEC) failed with unexpected error 16 (Device or resource busy) perf_event_open(..., 0) failed unexpectedly with error 16 (Device or resource busy) The PMU counters are busy/taken by another profiler. We found oprofile daemon running, please stop it and try again. Signed-off-by: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org> Cc: Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com> Cc: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com> Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com> Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@gmail.com> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com> Cc: William Cohen <wcohen@redhat.com> Cc: Yann Droneaud <ydroneaud@opteya.com> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1406908014-8312-1-git-send-email-jolsa@kernel.org Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Diffstat (limited to 'tools/perf/builtin-kmem.c')
0 files changed, 0 insertions, 0 deletions