summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/tools/perf/builtin-record.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorArnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>2015-03-24 19:23:47 -0300
committerArnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>2015-03-26 10:52:28 -0300
commit23d4aad48e31d3269af484dd2f9bd251278cd667 (patch)
tree0bf256b09c904a39ed08aacf6e8f08068c3c6863 /tools/perf/builtin-record.c
parente94eedab3ab8201fd41480171b2fabbf3c5b1ae0 (diff)
downloadlinux-23d4aad48e31d3269af484dd2f9bd251278cd667.tar.gz
perf evlist: Return the first evsel with an invalid filter in apply_filters()
Use of a bad filter currently generates the message: Error: failed to set filter with 22 (Invalid argument) Add the event name to make it clear to which event the filter failed to apply: Error: Failed to set filter "foo" on event sched:sg_lb_stats: 22: Invalid argument To test it use something like: # perf record -e sched:sched_switch -e sched:*fork --filter parent_pid==1 -e sched:*wait* --filter bla usleep 1 Error: failed to set filter "bla" on event sched:sched_stat_iowait with 22 (Invalid argument) # Based-on-a-patch-by: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com> Acked-by: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com> Cc: Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com> Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de> Cc: Don Zickus <dzickus@redhat.com> Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com> Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com> Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org> Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/n/tip-d7gq2fjvaecozp9o2i0siifu@git.kernel.org Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Diffstat (limited to 'tools/perf/builtin-record.c')
-rw-r--r--tools/perf/builtin-record.c5
1 files changed, 3 insertions, 2 deletions
diff --git a/tools/perf/builtin-record.c b/tools/perf/builtin-record.c
index 5a2ff510b75b..18aad239b401 100644
--- a/tools/perf/builtin-record.c
+++ b/tools/perf/builtin-record.c
@@ -161,8 +161,9 @@ try_again:
}
}
- if (perf_evlist__apply_filters(evlist)) {
- error("failed to set filter with %d (%s)\n", errno,
+ if (perf_evlist__apply_filters(evlist, &pos)) {
+ error("failed to set filter \"%s\" on event %s with %d (%s)\n",
+ pos->filter, perf_evsel__name(pos), errno,
strerror_r(errno, msg, sizeof(msg)));
rc = -1;
goto out;