summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/tools/perf/builtin-top.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorArnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>2016-03-22 18:23:43 -0300
committerArnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>2016-03-23 12:03:07 -0300
commit473398a21d28c089555117a8db4ea04e371dd03c (patch)
tree23aedcb836ef40362aa4bee4f625352b708fc492 /tools/perf/builtin-top.c
parenteb9f03231b7a27999abe22d3c5f71700338630c6 (diff)
downloadlinux-473398a21d28c089555117a8db4ea04e371dd03c.tar.gz
perf tools: Add cpumode to struct perf_sample
To avoid parsing event->header.misc in many locations. This will also allow setting perf.sample.{ip,cpumode} in a single place, from tracepoint fields, as needed by 'perf kvm' with PPC guests, where the guest hardware counters is not available at the host. Cc: Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com> Cc: Hemant Kumar <hemant@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org> Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org> Cc: Naveen N. Rao <naveen.n.rao@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Ravi Bangoria <ravi.bangoria@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Wang Nan <wangnan0@huawei.com> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/n/tip-qp3yradhyt6q3wl895b1aat0@git.kernel.org Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Diffstat (limited to 'tools/perf/builtin-top.c')
-rw-r--r--tools/perf/builtin-top.c5
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 4 deletions
diff --git a/tools/perf/builtin-top.c b/tools/perf/builtin-top.c
index 94af190f6843..a287800bc495 100644
--- a/tools/perf/builtin-top.c
+++ b/tools/perf/builtin-top.c
@@ -809,7 +809,6 @@ static void perf_top__mmap_read_idx(struct perf_top *top, int idx)
struct perf_session *session = top->session;
union perf_event *event;
struct machine *machine;
- u8 origin;
int ret;
while ((event = perf_evlist__mmap_read(top->evlist, idx)) != NULL) {
@@ -822,12 +821,10 @@ static void perf_top__mmap_read_idx(struct perf_top *top, int idx)
evsel = perf_evlist__id2evsel(session->evlist, sample.id);
assert(evsel != NULL);
- origin = event->header.misc & PERF_RECORD_MISC_CPUMODE_MASK;
-
if (event->header.type == PERF_RECORD_SAMPLE)
++top->samples;
- switch (origin) {
+ switch (sample.cpumode) {
case PERF_RECORD_MISC_USER:
++top->us_samples;
if (top->hide_user_symbols)