summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/tools/perf/builtin-top.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorNamhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>2015-10-22 16:45:46 +0900
committerArnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>2015-10-22 15:40:11 -0300
commit792aeafa8ed08e5e18fb66ab93b470f78e619f75 (patch)
tree5f0915238c4d7fc2a639aae06a4e070eadcccd91 /tools/perf/builtin-top.c
parenta2c10d39af49b00514f7cc7b750757fcc2174f0c (diff)
downloadlinux-792aeafa8ed08e5e18fb66ab93b470f78e619f75.tar.gz
perf tools: Defaults to 'caller' callchain order only if --children is enabled
The caller callchain order is useful with --children option since it can show 'overview' style output, but other commands which don't use --children feature like 'perf script' or even 'perf report/top' without --children are better to keep callee order. Signed-off-by: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org> Acked-by: Brendan Gregg <brendan.d.gregg@gmail.com> Acked-by: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com> Acked-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org> Cc: Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com> Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de> Cc: Chandler Carruth <chandlerc@gmail.com> Cc: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com> Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl> Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com> Cc: Wang Nan <wangnan0@huawei.com> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1445499946-29817-1-git-send-email-namhyung@kernel.org Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Diffstat (limited to 'tools/perf/builtin-top.c')
-rw-r--r--tools/perf/builtin-top.c3
1 files changed, 3 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/tools/perf/builtin-top.c b/tools/perf/builtin-top.c
index 1de381d3f29f..af849b1d7389 100644
--- a/tools/perf/builtin-top.c
+++ b/tools/perf/builtin-top.c
@@ -1304,6 +1304,9 @@ int cmd_top(int argc, const char **argv, const char *prefix __maybe_unused)
perf_hpp__cancel_cumulate();
}
+ if (symbol_conf.cumulate_callchain && !callchain_param.order_set)
+ callchain_param.order = ORDER_CALLER;
+
symbol_conf.priv_size = sizeof(struct annotation);
symbol_conf.try_vmlinux_path = (symbol_conf.vmlinux_name == NULL);