summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/tools/perf/builtin-top.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorArnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>2015-06-19 17:35:25 -0300
committerArnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>2015-06-19 18:13:59 -0300
commitae3b6ab603bce6a74ca089f7a944196863166a52 (patch)
tree7750a9fb9e5501ddd6ff9b6cebbf497631d93431 /tools/perf/builtin-top.c
parent5f00b0f45bc3f1e77f0db0e915fd3302db669914 (diff)
downloadlinux-ae3b6ab603bce6a74ca089f7a944196863166a52.tar.gz
perf top: Tell the user how to unfreeze events after pressing 'f'
When the user presses 'f' to disable events the visual cues are, well, the percentages not changing and the number of events freezing. Be more explicit by changing the help line at the bottom of the screen to show the following messages when 'f' is pressed: "Press 'f' again to re-enable the events" And then, when 'f' is pressed again: "Press 'f' to disable the events or 'h' Suggested-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org> Cc: Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com> Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de> Cc: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com> Cc: Don Zickus <dzickus@redhat.com> Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com> Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com> Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org> Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/n/tip-uhiswg9a9rxm5gxg7ptjskjn@git.kernel.org Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Diffstat (limited to 'tools/perf/builtin-top.c')
-rw-r--r--tools/perf/builtin-top.c8
1 files changed, 7 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/tools/perf/builtin-top.c b/tools/perf/builtin-top.c
index ccf569ab08aa..70a9505aae83 100644
--- a/tools/perf/builtin-top.c
+++ b/tools/perf/builtin-top.c
@@ -599,7 +599,13 @@ static void *display_thread_tui(void *arg)
* No need to refresh, resort/decay histogram entries
* if we are not collecting samples:
*/
- hbt.refresh = top->evlist->enabled ? top->delay_secs : 0;
+ if (top->evlist->enabled) {
+ hbt.refresh = top->delay_secs;
+ help = "Press 'f' to disable the events or 'h' to see other hotkeys";
+ } else {
+ help = "Press 'f' again to re-enable the events";
+ hbt.refresh = 0;
+ }
}
done = 1;