summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/tools/perf/builtin-top.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorNamhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>2016-02-25 00:13:50 +0900
committerArnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>2016-02-24 20:21:15 -0300
commitc92fcfde3486fb4b9e476ee5ad5995a62e401cce (patch)
tree0a29bc742ef0fe77a40289fe7f57f1ea078ecd52 /tools/perf/builtin-top.c
parent5d8200ae67724960f7761b3a2216a1ca651fcc65 (diff)
downloadlinux-c92fcfde3486fb4b9e476ee5ad5995a62e401cce.tar.gz
perf top: Add --hierarchy option
Support hierarchy output for perf-top using --hierarchy option. Signed-off-by: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org> Acked-by: Pekka Enberg <penberg@kernel.org> Cc: Andi Kleen <andi@firstfloor.org> Cc: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com> Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com> Cc: Wang Nan <wangnan0@huawei.com> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1456326830-30456-19-git-send-email-namhyung@kernel.org Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Diffstat (limited to 'tools/perf/builtin-top.c')
-rw-r--r--tools/perf/builtin-top.c15
1 files changed, 15 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/tools/perf/builtin-top.c b/tools/perf/builtin-top.c
index a75de3940b97..b86b623e8799 100644
--- a/tools/perf/builtin-top.c
+++ b/tools/perf/builtin-top.c
@@ -1214,6 +1214,8 @@ int cmd_top(int argc, const char **argv, const char *prefix __maybe_unused)
parse_branch_stack),
OPT_BOOLEAN(0, "raw-trace", &symbol_conf.raw_trace,
"Show raw trace event output (do not use print fmt or plugins)"),
+ OPT_BOOLEAN(0, "hierarchy", &symbol_conf.report_hierarchy,
+ "Show entries in a hierarchy"),
OPT_END()
};
const char * const top_usage[] = {
@@ -1241,6 +1243,19 @@ int cmd_top(int argc, const char **argv, const char *prefix __maybe_unused)
goto out_delete_evlist;
}
+ if (symbol_conf.report_hierarchy) {
+ /* disable incompatible options */
+ symbol_conf.event_group = false;
+ symbol_conf.cumulate_callchain = false;
+
+ if (field_order) {
+ pr_err("Error: --hierarchy and --fields options cannot be used together\n");
+ parse_options_usage(top_usage, options, "fields", 0);
+ parse_options_usage(NULL, options, "hierarchy", 0);
+ goto out_delete_evlist;
+ }
+ }
+
sort__mode = SORT_MODE__TOP;
/* display thread wants entries to be collapsed in a different tree */
sort__need_collapse = 1;