summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/tools/perf/builtin-trace.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorArnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>2015-03-02 22:21:35 -0300
committerArnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>2015-03-03 00:17:08 -0300
commitf3b623b8490af7a9b819cbcf2d99ab4597ece94b (patch)
tree13926b268a431ab99d8518b0b9c9d4c7c124c188 /tools/perf/builtin-trace.c
parent2ed11312eb19506c027e7cac039994ad42a9cb2c (diff)
downloadlinux-f3b623b8490af7a9b819cbcf2d99ab4597ece94b.tar.gz
perf tools: Reference count struct thread
We need to do that to stop accumulating entries in the dead_threads linked list, i.e. we were keeping references to threads in struct hists that continue to exist even after a thread exited and was removed from the machine threads rbtree. We still keep the dead_threads list, but just for debugging, allowing us to iterate at any given point over the threads that still are referenced by things like struct hist_entry. Cc: Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com> Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de> Cc: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com> Cc: Don Zickus <dzickus@redhat.com> Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com> Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com> Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org> Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/n/tip-3ejvfyed0r7ue61dkurzjux4@git.kernel.org Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Diffstat (limited to 'tools/perf/builtin-trace.c')
-rw-r--r--tools/perf/builtin-trace.c7
1 files changed, 6 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/tools/perf/builtin-trace.c b/tools/perf/builtin-trace.c
index d95a8f4d988c..211614fba217 100644
--- a/tools/perf/builtin-trace.c
+++ b/tools/perf/builtin-trace.c
@@ -1741,7 +1741,10 @@ static int trace__sys_enter(struct trace *trace, struct perf_evsel *evsel,
} else
ttrace->entry_pending = true;
- trace->current = thread;
+ if (trace->current != thread) {
+ thread__put(trace->current);
+ trace->current = thread__get(thread);
+ }
return 0;
}
@@ -2274,6 +2277,8 @@ next_event:
}
out_disable:
+ thread__zput(trace->current);
+
perf_evlist__disable(evlist);
if (!err) {