summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/tools/perf/command-list.txt
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorNamhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>2015-11-29 23:24:17 +0900
committerArnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>2016-01-08 12:41:37 -0300
commit1e9abf8b03c8f9352f54171647296c41317679a4 (patch)
treed9d4864376c0e04f6b6b31b235be093222b28fe5 /tools/perf/command-list.txt
parent42b276a2351517409d55b1202a1fa8b05c0cdc99 (diff)
downloadlinux-1e9abf8b03c8f9352f54171647296c41317679a4.tar.gz
perf report: Change default to use event group view
The event group view feature is to see related events together. To use the group view, events should be recorded as a group with a dedicated syntax of surrounding events by braces (-e '{ evt1, evt2, ... }'). Also 'perf report' also requires the --group option to enable it. However it's almost always beneficial to use the group view to see the group events as it's more expressive. And I think it's more natural to see events together if they are recorded as a group. Thus this patch changes the default value to enable it. If users don't want to see like it and keep the original behavior, they can set the report.group config variable to false and/or use --no-group option in the 'perf report' command line. Requested-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org> Signed-off-by: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org> Cc: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com> Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl> Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com> Cc: Taeung Song <treeze.taeung@gmail.com> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1448807057-3506-1-git-send-email-namhyung@kernel.org Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Diffstat (limited to 'tools/perf/command-list.txt')
0 files changed, 0 insertions, 0 deletions