summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/tools/perf/config
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorJiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org>2015-09-07 10:38:07 +0200
committerArnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>2015-09-15 09:48:33 -0300
commit196581717d85f59365dc9303685cd5b1cdf106a3 (patch)
treebadef93c50699e77f469217a079f5f4159ccda7f /tools/perf/config
parent8dd2a1317eba2c207632dcb19adb7cb746861652 (diff)
downloadlinux-196581717d85f59365dc9303685cd5b1cdf106a3.tar.gz
perf tools: Enhance parsing events tracepoint error output
Enhancing parsing events tracepoint error output. Adding more verbose output when the tracepoint is not found or the tracing event path cannot be access. $ sudo perf record -e sched:sched_krava ls event syntax error: 'sched:sched_krava' \___ unknown tracepoint Error: File /sys/kernel/debug/tracing//tracing/events/sched/sched_krava not found. Hint: Perhaps this kernel misses some CONFIG_ setting to enable this feature?. Run 'perf list' for a list of valid events ... $ perf record -e sched:sched_krava ls event syntax error: 'sched:sched_krava' \___ can't access trace events Error: No permissions to read /sys/kernel/debug/tracing//tracing/events/sched/sched_krava Hint: Try 'sudo mount -o remount,mode=755 /sys/kernel/debug' Run 'perf list' for a list of valid events ... Signed-off-by: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org> Tested-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com> Cc: Raphael Beamonte <raphael.beamonte@gmail.com> Cc: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com> Cc: Matt Fleming <matt@codeblueprint.co.uk> Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1441615087-13886-6-git-send-email-jolsa@kernel.org Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Diffstat (limited to 'tools/perf/config')
0 files changed, 0 insertions, 0 deletions