summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/tools/perf/scripts
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorJiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>2013-11-05 15:14:47 +0100
committerArnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>2013-11-05 15:15:08 -0300
commit714647bdc516330e4405b39677d7f763e016c685 (patch)
tree13aaae6374601031ff2393d11ee8a28d37072a6d /tools/perf/scripts
parenta9862418547e818aa5842840aecfa81d733b97e9 (diff)
downloadlinux-714647bdc516330e4405b39677d7f763e016c685.tar.gz
perf tools: Check maximum frequency rate for record/top
Adding the check for maximum allowed frequency rate defined in following file: /proc/sys/kernel/perf_event_max_sample_rate When we cross the maximum value we fail and display detailed error message with advise. $ perf record -F 3000 ls Maximum frequency rate (2000) reached. Please use -F freq option with lower value or consider tweaking /proc/sys/kernel/perf_event_max_sample_rate. In case user does not specify the frequency and the default value cross the maximum, we display warning and set the frequency value to the current maximum. $ perf record ls Lowering default frequency rate to 2000. Please consider tweaking /proc/sys/kernel/perf_event_max_sample_rate. Same messages are used for 'perf top'. Signed-off-by: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com> Cc: Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com> Cc: Corey Ashford <cjashfor@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com> Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu> Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1383660887-1734-4-git-send-email-jolsa@redhat.com Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Diffstat (limited to 'tools/perf/scripts')
0 files changed, 0 insertions, 0 deletions