summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/tools/perf/tests
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorWang Nan <wangnan0@huawei.com>2016-02-19 11:44:01 +0000
committerArnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>2016-02-19 19:12:51 -0300
commit43d0b97817a41b274aaec0476e912dae3ae1f93d (patch)
treef865dd5a4fce34a7ad911bdfb30ee91f80c859d9 /tools/perf/tests
parent10bf358a1b79fa1311eb05ee31f2cefdcad01741 (diff)
downloadlinux-43d0b97817a41b274aaec0476e912dae3ae1f93d.tar.gz
perf tools: Enable config and setting names for legacy cache events
This patch allows setting config terms for legacy cache events. For example: # perf stat -e L1-icache-misses/name=valA/ -e branches/name=valB/ ls ... Performance counter stats for 'ls': 11299 valA 451605 valB 0.000779091 seconds time elapsed # perf record -e cache-misses/name=inh/ -e cache-misses/name=noinh,no-inherit/ bash # ls # exit [ perf record: Woken up 1 times to write data ] [ perf record: Captured and wrote 0.023 MB perf.data (131 samples) ] # perf report --stdio | grep -B 1 'Event count' # Samples: 105 of event 'inh' # Event count (approx.): 109118 -- # Samples: 26 of event 'noinh' # Event count (approx.): 48302 A test case is introduced to test this feature. Signed-off-by: Wang Nan <wangnan0@huawei.com> Tested-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com> Cc: Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com> Cc: Alexei Starovoitov <ast@kernel.org> Cc: Brendan Gregg <brendan.d.gregg@gmail.com> Cc: Cody P Schafer <dev@codyps.com> Cc: He Kuang <hekuang@huawei.com> Cc: Jeremie Galarneau <jeremie.galarneau@efficios.com> Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org> Cc: Kirill Smelkov <kirr@nexedi.com> Cc: Li Zefan <lizefan@huawei.com> Cc: Masami Hiramatsu <masami.hiramatsu.pt@hitachi.com> Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Zefan Li <lizefan@huawei.com> Cc: pi3orama@163.com Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1455882283-79592-14-git-send-email-wangnan0@huawei.com Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Diffstat (limited to 'tools/perf/tests')
-rw-r--r--tools/perf/tests/parse-events.c12
1 files changed, 12 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/tools/perf/tests/parse-events.c b/tools/perf/tests/parse-events.c
index 15e2d055321e..7865f68dc0d8 100644
--- a/tools/perf/tests/parse-events.c
+++ b/tools/perf/tests/parse-events.c
@@ -1295,6 +1295,13 @@ static int test__checkevent_config_num(struct perf_evlist *evlist)
return 0;
}
+static int test__checkevent_config_cache(struct perf_evlist *evlist)
+{
+ struct perf_evsel *evsel = perf_evlist__first(evlist);
+
+ TEST_ASSERT_VAL("wrong name setting", strcmp(evsel->name, "cachepmu") == 0);
+ return 0;
+}
static int count_tracepoints(void)
{
@@ -1619,6 +1626,11 @@ static struct evlist_test test__events[] = {
.check = test__checkevent_config_num,
.id = 50,
},
+ {
+ .name = "L1-dcache-misses/name=cachepmu/",
+ .check = test__checkevent_config_cache,
+ .id = 51,
+ },
};
static struct evlist_test test__events_pmu[] = {