summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/tools/perf/trace
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorArnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>2016-05-12 15:44:55 -0300
committerArnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>2016-05-12 15:44:55 -0300
commit7d173913a6420f2818afeca70b268f064441f69b (patch)
tree6f0113ffa465a23ffdd35acd7e60c9a8ba150cc4 /tools/perf/trace
parent106b816cb46ebd87408b4ed99a2e16203114daa6 (diff)
downloadlinux-7d173913a6420f2818afeca70b268f064441f69b.tar.gz
perf evsel: Improve EPERM error handling in open_strerror()
We were showing a hardcoded default value for the kernel.perf_event_paranoid sysctl, now that it became more paranoid (1 -> 2 [1]), this would need to be updated, instead show the current value: [acme@jouet linux]$ perf record ls Error: You may not have permission to collect stats. Consider tweaking /proc/sys/kernel/perf_event_paranoid, which controls use of the performance events system by unprivileged users (without CAP_SYS_ADMIN). The current value is 2: -1: Allow use of (almost) all events by all users >= 0: Disallow raw tracepoint access by users without CAP_IOC_LOCK >= 1: Disallow CPU event access by users without CAP_SYS_ADMIN >= 2: Disallow kernel profiling by users without CAP_SYS_ADMIN [acme@jouet linux]$ [1] 0161028b7c8a ("perf/core: Change the default paranoia level to 2") Reported-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org> Cc: Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com> Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org> Cc: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com> Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org> Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@kernel.org> Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Wang Nan <wangnan0@huawei.com> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/n/tip-0gc4rdpg8d025r5not8s8028@git.kernel.org Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Diffstat (limited to 'tools/perf/trace')
0 files changed, 0 insertions, 0 deletions