summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/tools/perf/util/top.h
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorWaiman Long <Waiman.Long@hp.com>2013-10-18 10:38:49 -0400
committerArnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>2013-10-21 17:36:25 -0300
commit5dbb6e81d85e55ee2b4cf523c1738e16f63e5400 (patch)
tree334d7cd3884dde1e7f9d35e0be561f82edc92ccf /tools/perf/util/top.h
parent91e95617429cb272fd908b1928a1915b37b9655f (diff)
downloadlinux-5dbb6e81d85e55ee2b4cf523c1738e16f63e5400.tar.gz
perf top: Add --max-stack option to limit callchain stack scan
When the callgraph function is enabled (-G), it may take a long time to scan all the stack data and merge them accordingly. This patch adds a new --max-stack option to perf-top to limit the depth of callchain stack data to look at to reduce the time it takes for perf-top to finish its processing. It reduces the amount of information provided to the user in exchange for faster speed. Signed-off-by: Waiman Long <Waiman.Long@hp.com> Acked-by: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com> Tested-by: Davidlohr Bueso <davidlohr@hp.com> Cc: Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com> Cc: Aswin Chandramouleeswaran <aswin@hp.com> Cc: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com> Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com> Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl> Cc: Scott J Norton <scott.norton@hp.com> Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1382107129-2010-5-git-send-email-Waiman.Long@hp.com Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Diffstat (limited to 'tools/perf/util/top.h')
-rw-r--r--tools/perf/util/top.h1
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/tools/perf/util/top.h b/tools/perf/util/top.h
index b554ffc462b6..88cfeaff600b 100644
--- a/tools/perf/util/top.h
+++ b/tools/perf/util/top.h
@@ -24,6 +24,7 @@ struct perf_top {
u64 exact_samples;
u64 guest_us_samples, guest_kernel_samples;
int print_entries, count_filter, delay_secs;
+ int max_stack;
bool hide_kernel_symbols, hide_user_symbols, zero;
bool use_tui, use_stdio;
bool kptr_restrict_warned;