summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/tools/perf
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorHe Kuang <hekuang@huawei.com>2016-05-12 08:43:11 +0000
committerArnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>2016-05-16 23:11:45 -0300
commit6ae98ba611ed1c11ddc5645475bc03b46a3c04e7 (patch)
treeb533a65eec99c82bc7078e562181d05d51dd7c43 /tools/perf
parente3b03b6c1a4f3b4564be08809f58584592621a0a (diff)
downloadlinux-6ae98ba611ed1c11ddc5645475bc03b46a3c04e7.tar.gz
perf symbols: Store vdso buildid unconditionally
When unwinding callchains on a different machine, vdso info should be available so the unwind process won't be interrupted if address falls into vdso region. But in most cases, the addresses of sample events are not in vdso range, the buildid of a zero hit vdso won't be stored into perf.data. This patch stores vdso buildid regardless of whether the vdso is hit or not. Signed-off-by: He Kuang <hekuang@huawei.com> Cc: Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com> Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com> Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com> Cc: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com> Cc: Ekaterina Tumanova <tumanova@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com> Cc: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com> Cc: Kan Liang <kan.liang@intel.com> Cc: Masami Hiramatsu <masami.hiramatsu.pt@hitachi.com> Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org> Cc: Pekka Enberg <penberg@kernel.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com> Cc: Sukadev Bhattiprolu <sukadev@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Wang Nan <wangnan0@huawei.com> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1463042596-61703-3-git-send-email-hekuang@huawei.com Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Diffstat (limited to 'tools/perf')
-rw-r--r--tools/perf/util/build-id.c2
-rw-r--r--tools/perf/util/dso.c3
2 files changed, 3 insertions, 2 deletions
diff --git a/tools/perf/util/build-id.c b/tools/perf/util/build-id.c
index bff425e1232c..67e5966503b2 100644
--- a/tools/perf/util/build-id.c
+++ b/tools/perf/util/build-id.c
@@ -256,7 +256,7 @@ static int machine__write_buildid_table(struct machine *machine, int fd)
size_t name_len;
bool in_kernel = false;
- if (!pos->hit)
+ if (!pos->hit && !dso__is_vdso(pos))
continue;
if (dso__is_vdso(pos)) {
diff --git a/tools/perf/util/dso.c b/tools/perf/util/dso.c
index 3357479082ca..75b75615e2f8 100644
--- a/tools/perf/util/dso.c
+++ b/tools/perf/util/dso.c
@@ -7,6 +7,7 @@
#include "auxtrace.h"
#include "util.h"
#include "debug.h"
+#include "vdso.h"
char dso__symtab_origin(const struct dso *dso)
{
@@ -1169,7 +1170,7 @@ bool __dsos__read_build_ids(struct list_head *head, bool with_hits)
struct dso *pos;
list_for_each_entry(pos, head, node) {
- if (with_hits && !pos->hit)
+ if (with_hits && !pos->hit && !dso__is_vdso(pos))
continue;
if (pos->has_build_id) {
have_build_id = true;