summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/tools/perf
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorHe Kuang <hekuang@huawei.com>2016-05-06 08:59:07 +0000
committerArnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>2016-05-09 13:29:36 -0300
commit841e3558b2de6d8c53dae4f01c7a81cd53e42e5c (patch)
tree0c9057d0516cf40e24bfa6e9eb8831668f6818df /tools/perf
parentea7c28518943b26a85d73cd76acd03b71962cb18 (diff)
downloadlinux-841e3558b2de6d8c53dae4f01c7a81cd53e42e5c.tar.gz
perf callchain: Recording 'dwarf' callchains do not need DWARF unwinding support
There is no need to check for DWARF unwinding support when using the 'dwarf' callchain record method, as this will only ask the kernel to collect stack dumps for later DWARF CFI processing, which can be done in another machine, where the support for DWARF unwinding need to be present. Signed-off-by: He Kuang <hekuang@huawei.com> Acked-by: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org> Cc: Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com> Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com> Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com> Cc: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com> Cc: Ekaterina Tumanova <tumanova@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com> Cc: Kan Liang <kan.liang@intel.com> Cc: Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@kernel.org> Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org> Cc: Pekka Enberg <penberg@kernel.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com> Cc: Sukadev Bhattiprolu <sukadev@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Wang Nan <wangnan0@huawei.com> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1462525154-125656-2-git-send-email-hekuang@huawei.com Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Diffstat (limited to 'tools/perf')
-rw-r--r--tools/perf/util/util.c2
1 files changed, 0 insertions, 2 deletions
diff --git a/tools/perf/util/util.c b/tools/perf/util/util.c
index 619ba2061b62..01c9433de7ef 100644
--- a/tools/perf/util/util.c
+++ b/tools/perf/util/util.c
@@ -507,7 +507,6 @@ int parse_callchain_record(const char *arg, struct callchain_param *param)
"needed for --call-graph fp\n");
break;
-#ifdef HAVE_DWARF_UNWIND_SUPPORT
/* Dwarf style */
} else if (!strncmp(name, "dwarf", sizeof("dwarf"))) {
const unsigned long default_stack_dump_size = 8192;
@@ -523,7 +522,6 @@ int parse_callchain_record(const char *arg, struct callchain_param *param)
ret = get_stack_size(tok, &size);
param->dump_size = size;
}
-#endif /* HAVE_DWARF_UNWIND_SUPPORT */
} else if (!strncmp(name, "lbr", sizeof("lbr"))) {
if (!strtok_r(NULL, ",", &saveptr)) {
param->record_mode = CALLCHAIN_LBR;