summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/tools
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorWang Nan <wangnan0@huawei.com>2016-01-25 09:55:53 +0000
committerArnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>2016-01-29 17:25:43 -0300
commit6a7d550e8b2eeb380ab85d9bc53571123b98345b (patch)
tree1216b7167ab8006654082267e698f8dbd47c283a /tools
parentfd786fac78affe4a005065bc2b6f90d8f8953961 (diff)
downloadlinux-6a7d550e8b2eeb380ab85d9bc53571123b98345b.tar.gz
perf test: Check environment before start real BPF test
Copying perf to old kernel system results: # perf test bpf 37: Test BPF filter : 37.1: Test basic BPF filtering : FAILED! 37.2: Test BPF prologue generation : Skip However, in case when kernel doesn't support a test case it should return 'Skip', 'FAILED!' should be reserved for kernel tests for when the kernel supports a feature that then fails to work as advertised. This patch checks environment before real testcase. Signed-off-by: Wang Nan <wangnan0@huawei.com> Suggested-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com> Cc: Alexei Starovoitov <ast@kernel.org> Cc: Brendan Gregg <brendan.d.gregg@gmail.com> Cc: Daniel Borkmann <daniel@iogearbox.net> Cc: He Kuang <hekuang@huawei.com> Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org> Cc: Li Zefan <lizefan@huawei.com> Cc: Masami Hiramatsu <masami.hiramatsu.pt@hitachi.com> Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com> Cc: pi3orama@163.com Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1453715801-7732-7-git-send-email-wangnan0@huawei.com Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Diffstat (limited to 'tools')
-rw-r--r--tools/perf/tests/bpf.c37
1 files changed, 37 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/tools/perf/tests/bpf.c b/tools/perf/tests/bpf.c
index 952ca99aba6b..4aed5cb4ac2d 100644
--- a/tools/perf/tests/bpf.c
+++ b/tools/perf/tests/bpf.c
@@ -1,7 +1,11 @@
#include <stdio.h>
#include <sys/epoll.h>
+#include <util/util.h>
#include <util/bpf-loader.h>
#include <util/evlist.h>
+#include <linux/bpf.h>
+#include <linux/filter.h>
+#include <bpf/bpf.h>
#include "tests.h"
#include "llvm.h"
#include "debug.h"
@@ -243,6 +247,36 @@ const char *test__bpf_subtest_get_desc(int i)
return bpf_testcase_table[i].desc;
}
+static int check_env(void)
+{
+ int err;
+ unsigned int kver_int;
+ char license[] = "GPL";
+
+ struct bpf_insn insns[] = {
+ BPF_MOV64_IMM(BPF_REG_0, 1),
+ BPF_EXIT_INSN(),
+ };
+
+ err = fetch_kernel_version(&kver_int, NULL, 0);
+ if (err) {
+ pr_debug("Unable to get kernel version\n");
+ return err;
+ }
+
+ err = bpf_load_program(BPF_PROG_TYPE_KPROBE, insns,
+ sizeof(insns) / sizeof(insns[0]),
+ license, kver_int, NULL, 0);
+ if (err < 0) {
+ pr_err("Missing basic BPF support, skip this test: %s\n",
+ strerror(errno));
+ return err;
+ }
+ close(err);
+
+ return 0;
+}
+
int test__bpf(int i)
{
int err;
@@ -255,6 +289,9 @@ int test__bpf(int i)
return TEST_SKIP;
}
+ if (check_env())
+ return TEST_SKIP;
+
err = __test__bpf(i);
return err;
}