summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/arch/alpha/mm/numa.c
AgeCommit message (Collapse)AuthorFilesLines
2013-07-03mm/alpha: unify mem_init() for both UMA and NUMA architecturesJiang Liu1-10/+0
Now mem_init() for both Alpha UMA and Alpha NUMA are the same, so unify it to reduce duplicated code. Signed-off-by: Jiang Liu <jiang.liu@huawei.com> Cc: Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net> Cc: Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru> Cc: Matt Turner <mattst88@gmail.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2013-07-03mm/alpha: prepare for removing num_physpages and simplify mem_init()Jiang Liu1-32/+2
Prepare for removing num_physpages and simplify mem_init(). Signed-off-by: Jiang Liu <jiang.liu@huawei.com> Cc: Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net> Cc: Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru> Cc: Matt Turner <mattst88@gmail.com> Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2013-07-03mm: concentrate modification of totalram_pages into the mm coreJiang Liu1-1/+1
Concentrate code to modify totalram_pages into the mm core, so the arch memory initialized code doesn't need to take care of it. With these changes applied, only following functions from mm core modify global variable totalram_pages: free_bootmem_late(), free_all_bootmem(), free_all_bootmem_node(), adjust_managed_page_count(). With this patch applied, it will be much more easier for us to keep totalram_pages and zone->managed_pages in consistence. Signed-off-by: Jiang Liu <jiang.liu@huawei.com> Acked-by: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com> Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com> Cc: "Michael S. Tsirkin" <mst@redhat.com> Cc: <sworddragon2@aol.com> Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de> Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com> Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com> Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com> Cc: Jeremy Fitzhardinge <jeremy@goop.org> Cc: Jianguo Wu <wujianguo@huawei.com> Cc: Joonsoo Kim <js1304@gmail.com> Cc: Kamezawa Hiroyuki <kamezawa.hiroyu@jp.fujitsu.com> Cc: Konrad Rzeszutek Wilk <konrad.wilk@oracle.com> Cc: Marek Szyprowski <m.szyprowski@samsung.com> Cc: Mel Gorman <mel@csn.ul.ie> Cc: Michel Lespinasse <walken@google.com> Cc: Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org> Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com> Cc: Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au> Cc: Tang Chen <tangchen@cn.fujitsu.com> Cc: Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Wen Congyang <wency@cn.fujitsu.com> Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com> Cc: Yasuaki Ishimatsu <isimatu.yasuaki@jp.fujitsu.com> Cc: Yinghai Lu <yinghai@kernel.org> Cc: Russell King <rmk@arm.linux.org.uk> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2013-04-29mm/alpha: use common help functions to free reserved pagesJiang Liu1-2/+1
Use common help functions to free reserved pages. Also include <asm/sections.h> to avoid local declarations. Signed-off-by: Jiang Liu <jiang.liu@huawei.com> Cc: Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net> Cc: Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru> Cc: Matt Turner <mattst88@gmail.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2011-05-25alpha, mm: set all online nodes in N_NORMAL_MEMORYDavid Rientjes1-0/+1
For alpha, N_NORMAL_MEMORY represents all nodes that have present memory since it does not support HIGHMEM. This patch sets the bit at the time the node is initialized. If N_NORMAL_MEMORY is not accurate, slub may encounter errors since it uses this nodemask to setup per-cache kmem_cache_node data structures. Signed-off-by: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com> Cc: Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net> Cc: Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru> Cc: Matt Turner <mattst88@gmail.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2009-12-04tree-wide: fix assorted typos all over the placeAndré Goddard Rosa1-1/+1
That is "success", "unknown", "through", "performance", "[re|un]mapping" , "access", "default", "reasonable", "[con]currently", "temperature" , "channel", "[un]used", "application", "example","hierarchy", "therefore" , "[over|under]flow", "contiguous", "threshold", "enough" and others. Signed-off-by: André Goddard Rosa <andre.goddard@gmail.com> Signed-off-by: Jiri Kosina <jkosina@suse.cz>
2009-09-22arches: drop superfluous casts in nr_free_pages() callersGeert Uytterhoeven1-1/+1
Commit 96177299416dbccb73b54e6b344260154a445375 ("Drop free_pages()") modified nr_free_pages() to return 'unsigned long' instead of 'unsigned int'. This made the casts to 'unsigned long' in most callers superfluous, so remove them. [akpm@linux-foundation.org: coding-style fixes] Signed-off-by: Geert Uytterhoeven <Geert.Uytterhoeven@sonycom.com> Reviewed-by: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux-foundation.org> Acked-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu> Acked-by: Russell King <rmk+kernel@arm.linux.org.uk> Acked-by: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net> Acked-by: Kyle McMartin <kyle@mcmartin.ca> Acked-by: WANG Cong <xiyou.wangcong@gmail.com> Cc: Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net> Cc: Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru> Cc: Haavard Skinnemoen <hskinnemoen@atmel.com> Cc: Mikael Starvik <starvik@axis.com> Cc: "Luck, Tony" <tony.luck@intel.com> Cc: Hirokazu Takata <takata@linux-m32r.org> Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org> Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com> Acked-by: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com> Cc: Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org> Cc: Chris Zankel <zankel@tensilica.com> Cc: Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2009-06-16alpha: bad macro expansion, parameter is memberRoel Kluin1-3/+3
`for_each_mem_cluster(x, y, z)' will expand to `for ((x) = (y)->x ...' but correct is `for ((x) = (y)->cluster ...' Signed-off-by: Roel Kluin <roel.kluin@gmail.com> Cc: Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net> Cc: Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2008-07-26alpha: use generic show_mem()Johannes Weiner1-35/+0
Remove arch-specific show_mem() in favor of the generic version. This also removes the following redundant information display: - free pages, printed by show_free_areas() - free swap pages, printed by show_swap_cache_info() - pages in swapcache, printed by show_swap_cache_info() where show_mem() calls show_free_areas(), which calls show_swap_cache_info(). Signed-off-by: Johannes Weiner <hannes@saeurebad.de> Cc: Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net> Cc: Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2008-07-24bootmem: replace node_boot_start in struct bootmem_dataJohannes Weiner1-1/+1
Almost all users of this field need a PFN instead of a physical address, so replace node_boot_start with node_min_pfn. [Lee.Schermerhorn@hp.com: fix spurious BUG_ON() in mark_bootmem()] Signed-off-by: Johannes Weiner <hannes@saeureba.de> Cc: <linux-arch@vger.kernel.org> Signed-off-by: Lee Schermerhorn <lee.schermerhorn@hp.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2008-07-24mm: drop unneeded pgdat argument from free_area_init_node()Johannes Weiner1-1/+1
free_area_init_node() gets passed in the node id as well as the node descriptor. This is redundant as the function can trivially get the node descriptor itself by means of NODE_DATA() and the node's id. I checked all the users and NODE_DATA() seems to be usable everywhere from where this function is called. Signed-off-by: Johannes Weiner <hannes@saeurebad.de> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2008-07-24mm: move bootmem descriptors definition to a single placeJohannes Weiner1-4/+4
There are a lot of places that define either a single bootmem descriptor or an array of them. Use only one central array with MAX_NUMNODES items instead. Signed-off-by: Johannes Weiner <hannes@saeurebad.de> Acked-by: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu> Cc: Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net> Cc: Russell King <rmk@arm.linux.org.uk> Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com> Cc: Hirokazu Takata <takata@linux-m32r.org> Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org> Cc: Kyle McMartin <kyle@parisc-linux.org> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org> Cc: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: Yinghai Lu <yhlu.kernel@gmail.com> Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Mel Gorman <mel@csn.ul.ie> Cc: Andy Whitcroft <apw@shadowen.org> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2008-02-07Introduce flags for reserve_bootmem()Bernhard Walle1-2/+3
This patchset adds a flags variable to reserve_bootmem() and uses the BOOTMEM_EXCLUSIVE flag in crashkernel reservation code to detect collisions between crashkernel area and already used memory. This patch: Change the reserve_bootmem() function to accept a new flag BOOTMEM_EXCLUSIVE. If that flag is set, the function returns with -EBUSY if the memory already has been reserved in the past. This is to avoid conflicts. Because that code runs before SMP initialisation, there's no race condition inside reserve_bootmem_core(). [akpm@linux-foundation.org: coding-style fixes] [akpm@linux-foundation.org: fix powerpc build] Signed-off-by: Bernhard Walle <bwalle@suse.de> Cc: <linux-arch@vger.kernel.org> Cc: "Eric W. Biederman" <ebiederm@xmission.com> Cc: Vivek Goyal <vgoyal@in.ibm.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2006-10-11[PATCH] alpha_ksyms.c cleanupAl Viro1-0/+2
taken exports to actual definitions of symbols being exported. Signed-off-by: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@osdl.org>
2006-06-30Remove obsolete #include <linux/config.h>Jörn Engel1-1/+0
Signed-off-by: Jörn Engel <joern@wohnheim.fh-wedel.de> Signed-off-by: Adrian Bunk <bunk@stusta.de>
2006-03-27[PATCH] unify PFN_* macrosDave Hansen1-3/+1
Just about every architecture defines some macros to do operations on pfns. They're all virtually identical. This patch consolidates all of them. One minor glitch is that at least i386 uses them in a very skeletal header file. To keep away from #include dependency hell, I stuck the new definitions in a new, isolated header. Of all of the implementations, sh64 is the only one that varied by a bit. It used some masks to ensure that any sign-extension got ripped away before the arithmetic is done. This has been posted to that sh64 maintainers and the development list. Compiles on x86, x86_64, ia64 and ppc64. Signed-off-by: Dave Hansen <haveblue@us.ibm.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@osdl.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@osdl.org>
2005-10-29[PATCH] memory hotplug locking: node_size_lockDave Hansen1-0/+3
pgdat->node_size_lock is basically only neeeded in one place in the normal code: show_mem(), which is the arch-specific sysrq-m printing function. Strictly speaking, the architectures not doing memory hotplug do no need this locking in show_mem(). However, they are all included for completeness. This should also make any future consolidation of all of the implementations a little more straightforward. This lock is also held in the sparsemem code during a memory removal, as sections are invalidated. This is the place there pfn_valid() is made false for a memory area that's being removed. The lock is only required when doing pfn_valid() operations on memory which the user does not already have a reference on the page, such as in show_mem(). Signed-off-by: Dave Hansen <haveblue@us.ibm.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@osdl.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@osdl.org>
2005-06-23[PATCH] remove non-DISCONTIG use of pgdat->node_mem_mapDave Hansen1-9/+7
This patch effectively eliminates direct use of pgdat->node_mem_map outside of the DISCONTIG code. On a flat memory system, these fields aren't currently used, neither are they on a sparsemem system. There was also a node_mem_map(nid) macro on many architectures. Its use along with the use of ->node_mem_map itself was not consistent. It has been removed in favor of two new, more explicit, arch-independent macros: pgdat_page_nr(pgdat, pagenr) nid_page_nr(nid, pagenr) I called them "pgdat" and "nid" because we overload the term "node" to mean "NUMA node", "DISCONTIG node" or "pg_data_t" in very confusing ways. I believe the newer names are much clearer. These macros can be overridden in the sparsemem case with a theoretically slower operation using node_start_pfn and pfn_to_page(), instead. We could make this the only behavior if people want, but I don't want to change too much at once. One thing at a time. This patch removes more code than it adds. Compile tested on alpha, alpha discontig, arm, arm-discontig, i386, i386 generic, NUMAQ, Summit, ppc64, ppc64 discontig, and x86_64. Full list here: http://sr71.net/patches/2.6.12/2.6.12-rc1-mhp2/configs/ Boot tested on NUMAQ, x86 SMP and ppc64 power4/5 LPARs. Signed-off-by: Dave Hansen <haveblue@us.ibm.com> Signed-off-by: Martin J. Bligh <mbligh@aracnet.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@osdl.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@osdl.org>
2005-04-16Linux-2.6.12-rc2Linus Torvalds1-0/+395
Initial git repository build. I'm not bothering with the full history, even though we have it. We can create a separate "historical" git archive of that later if we want to, and in the meantime it's about 3.2GB when imported into git - space that would just make the early git days unnecessarily complicated, when we don't have a lot of good infrastructure for it. Let it rip!